WINTER IN AMADOR COUNTY

 

Love where I live. In the city had never that much contact with neighbors, but here, people borrow tools from each other, or give things, or ask you to join for dinner.

 

red2barn_4481

Door blending into the wall of barn. What do ya know? Ended up with 3 doors in this post! Norm from Thurs. Door will be happy:):)

A part of Amador County, along highway 49 was the famous Gold Rush area. Seat of the county is Jackson/Sutter Creek. The latter named after John Sutter,  the one who was pivotal in starting the business center in, what is now Sacamento (around 1850). So this county has old and entrepreneurial roots.
(Tue Treasure, Tue Texture, Thurs. Door, Fri Greens)

 

 

 

 

foggybarn_8775

On a foggy trip I discovered it’s street side door …. (Thurs. Door

 

 

 

door-reflect_6369

Not many reflections in a forest, so I’ll make one with my own door:)
(Thurs Door, Weekend Reflections)

 

 

 

 

bloom-bracelet_2123

Close up” Bloom -that what this county was known for – unfortunately after the Gold rush it has been much harder for people to get jobs here.
Found out that here and beyond this county many and a diversity of artists live here. My creativity certainly has bloomed, by the super sized paintings (more than The Cloud is to follow).
(ABC-Wed. – Close up, Fri Hunt: C)

 

 

 

deergrazing_3142

You see her, across the street, looking like a statue…

 

 

 

 

Fri Hunt
Begins with: D : Door (above: 1. 2. 3)
Weeks Favorite: Bloom Bracelet
Close up: the bracelet

bouguetopenhouse_7696

On a rainy or snowy days, a bouquet of flowers is even more welcoming

 

 

 

bradbury-dam-santa-b_7353

For a travel photo this week I choose Bradbury Dam, close to Santa Barbara, in Southern California.
Travel Tue,  Travel Photo Thurs.

 

 

 

 

sunsetatsnow_3885

Amazing skies here – thankful to live here.
Today there is still a sunset  …. ♥
(Sky Watch, Sat. Silhouette, Pink Sat.)

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Every Sunday through Wednesday evening  there is an addictive and fun feature  called ©ALL SEASONS

allseasonswidgetsunset_4269-copy-copy

Join the fun and share your experience
by clicking on the bottom of the weekly ©All Seasons post
(where it says “click here” -to leave your photo link)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Thanks to All these Hosts who are doing an excellent job!

Our Beautiful World   * Randomosity* Our World *
Tue TextureNature Notes  *Tue Treasure * Tue Travel *
ABC Wed. –  C * Outdoor Wed.  Communal Global  *
Thurs. Doors Floral Fri Foto * Thankful Thursday * Sky Watch  * Travel Photo Thurs. *
Weekend  Reflection  *  Fri Greens  * Pierced Wonderings  *  Fri Photo Journal  * Fri Hunt *
Sat. Silhouette * Sat. Critters * Pink Saturday  *

62 Comments Add yours

  1. Love these! I love Amador County and all the Gold Rush towns along 49. We’re neighbors…I live in Sacramento!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jesh stg says:

      Yes, I remember… I have a hard time finding your comment section on your blog:)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, it’s toward the bottom of the post.

        Like

  2. Carol says:

    Beautiful collection of photos

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jesh stg says:

      I keep forgetting I can write you from my own blog:) Now I’ve done this, maybe I’ll remember! Have a lovely week!

      Like

  3. Tamar says:

    There has been so much fog lately!

    Like

  4. ewok1993 says:

    I still remember road tripping to Amador and stopping at Sutter Creek for a bite. Beautiful part of the state.

    Worth a Thousand Words

    Like

  5. fun60 says:

    You can’t beat having good neighbours. Beautiful sunsets in your part of the world.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. yogiabb says:

    Great photos of a beautiful area!!

    Like

  7. ladyfi says:

    Lovely lovely! I adore those red buildings.

    Like

  8. Sallie says:

    All your pictures and words show us why you love living in Amador County. It really was a good move for you two. I’m usually not a fan of foggy days, but you made even the heavy fog seem like an adventure.

    Like

  9. Great barns, reflection, bracelet, and sky! It is gorgeous up there.

    Like

    1. jesh stg says:

      Thank you Deborah! Am still discovering new things – now especially with the snow! I realize that living on an unpaved road has its consequences! Two neighbors this week couldn’t get to the store, because of a fallen tree. One of them went back to get a chain saw and other neighbor to cut the tree, instead of waiting for help from outside:):)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Probably have learned through past experience or from stories that it’s faster to do it yourselves. 🙂

        It’s great to have such a wonderful and supportive community!

        Liked by 1 person

  10. Lisa Isaacs says:

    That deer is so beautiful… and what a wonderful sky!

    Like

  11. Klara S says:

    Amazing sky, but I like the first photo the most. Have a good week.

    Like

  12. What a lovely place to live, I’d feel right at home. Thanks for your visit, I hope to see you again.

    Like

  13. Melody62 says:

    lovely collection for many memes…. also a view on your creativity

    Have a nice ABC-Wednesday / _ Week
    ♫ M e l ☺ d y ♫ (abc=w=team)
    http://melodymusic.nl/abc-wednesday-20c/
    (want to take a preview at the new url starting round 21 ? http://abcwednesday.wordpress.com)

    Like

  14. lesliebc says:

    Cool Collection of a variety of types of photos! Always a pleasure.

    Leslie
    abcw team

    Like

  15. Sharon says:

    The sunset photo is especially beautiful. This is a good representation of life in your neighborhood. I’m glad you’re happy there!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jesh stg says:

      Life here is so different from Orange County! Even though it’s beautiful (am close to Yosemite Nat. park) here, it took some adjustment:)

      Like

  16. Nice shots! I thought the deer was a statue until I read what you wrote.

    Like

  17. Ruth says:

    Can you believe I have never been to Amador County? It is one of the areas of California I do not know at all. I have tons of brochures (taken at a Travel Show) and have to say the towns and natural areas look incredible. Hope I can visit soon. #OurWorldTuesday

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Roger Green says:

    Looks COLD out!
    ROG, ABCW

    Like

  19. Ros Crawford says:

    Wonderful photos for our prompt! What a gorgeous place … So peaceful and at one with nature …Thanks so much for sharing with us at OBW!!

    Like

  20. narami says:

    Oh my jesh, so lovely! I love what you said about people sharing in your neighbourhood and that bracelet is BEAUTIFUL! Thanks so much for sharing your post with us!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jesh stg says:

      Thank you Narami -am very thankful to be living here:)

      Liked by 1 person

  21. Felicia says:

    love that red barn.

    Like

  22. Very interesting post… this is a new area to me but looks wonderful and boy your windows are clean…. Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Lovely reflection and “bloom”.

    Like

  24. I love red barnes. We have one down the street from my house and every time I pass it brings so much joy to me. Love the bracelet. Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Beautiful landscape, handsome barns, AND a feeling of community – lucky you. 🙂

    Like

    1. jesh stg says:

      Yes, am very thankful! Also, they are at the same time very respectful of privacy (I think I told you that many are veterans?)

      Like

  26. Norm 2.0 says:

    A mini-festival of doors this week – nicely done 🙂

    Like

  27. I’ve spent some lovely afternoons wine tasting and wondering around some cute little towns in Amador County. Lucky you for living there!

    Like

    1. jesh stg says:

      Thank you! It makes being retired easy (easier than in Orange County where we lived before).Retirement for me was a hard adjustment!
      Love that the vineyards give it a special atmosphere:)

      Like

  28. Eileen says:

    Hello, wonderful series. Love the deer and pretty sky shot. The flowers and bracelet are pretty.
    Enjoy your day and the weekend ahead!

    Like

  29. You live in such a beautiful place, Jesh, how lovely to have deer wander in so close to your home. I love that big red barn, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jesh stg says:

      That red barn is about the only red that is close by:)

      Liked by 1 person

  30. Andrea says:

    If i were there, i will also love that place, as you described in your first paragraph. That is how people in my province are, still partly like that until now. We even ask some salt or sugar when we ran out of it.

    Like

  31. treadway says:

    A great series of shots…I really liked the reflective one.

    Like

    1. jesh stg says:

      Thank you! Can’t wait till you do a post:):)

      Like

  32. Peter B says:

    Beautiful sky, and you gotta love that rural neighbor hospitality!!

    Like

  33. Michelle says:

    I will agree with you about living in the country. Nothing quite like it for peace and being around caring people. Also LOVE that bracelet. Thanks for linking up today!

    Like

  34. It is good to remember the past. It is good to be in the present moment. It is what it is. Enjoyed the cyber tour very much. Have a great week-end.

    Like

  35. budgettraveltalk says:

    I did have to have a second look to see if she was a statue or not. Great Shot and thanks for linking up with Nancie’s Travel Photo Thursday.

    Like

  36. Eileen says:

    Hello, wonderful post and photos. I love your deer critter. Thank you for linking up and sharing your post. Happy Saturday, enjoy your weekend!

    Like

  37. Very nice post, Jesh! Didn’t know that you were a distant neighbor (I’m in the SF Bay Area). My retired friend lives in Pioneer and we visited her country home several times and the wineries in Amador County in the past but not for a few years now. If your gallery is open to the public I would be interested in seeing your work if I get up that way; maybe I can convince Deborah to do a photo expedition up that way, too since it is beautiful country!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. jesh stg says:

      A great idea Gordon! Knew that you knew SF well, but not where you lived. Since we don’t know this area very well yet, I had no idea how far away you could be living!
      Jacob (hubby) is at the moment making cabinets for paintings in the studio/barn (it’s big, but wouldn’t call it a gallerie), so it’s a mess right now. Asked him how long it would take – he says about 6 weeks.
      Like to meet your friend in P. – does she have a vineyard?
      Please let me know a week in advance when you see the opportunity to come – appreciate your interest!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi Jesh, just read your reply. My friend that lives in Pioneer doesn’t own a winery but she drinks enough to keep the wineries in business 😉
        I’m heading for my old hometown, Honolulu, to visit my mother so not sure when I’ll get up that way but perhaps sometime this year. Will let you know in advance. Thanks.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. jesh stg says:

        Have a great time with your mother!

        Liked by 1 person

  38. James says:

    Wonderful shots! The reflection is really cool!

    Like

  39. DeniseinVA says:

    Great photos, loved the bloom beads especially.

    Like

  40. scotiaspinner says:

    Great pictures as always. I love the sunset shot, especially. The red barn looks cozy and welcoming – I think my sheep would love it there.

    Like

  41. jMo says:

    Yeah, that is an amazing sunset, a delicate one. I thought the doe was a statue as well. So many of them around here but haven’t seen any on my street for awhile which means they’ll jump out of nowhere when you least expect it. There is something about the slope of the roof in the first pic I just love.

    Like

  42. Mitzi says:

    Lovely….lovely…oh so lovely! Wonderful images!

    Like

  43. Teresa says:

    Lovely series of images. Love the first shot of the barn. The deer does look like a statue. Pretty flowers too. Thanks for joining Friday’s Hunt. Sorry I’m so late visiting this week.

    Like

    1. jesh stg says:

      It’s okay, Teresa, I know you are teaching and have the farm – there are only 24 hrs. in a day:):)

      Liked by 1 person

  44. Beautiful images, Jesh, and the sunset silhouettes photo is stunning!
    Thank you for taking part in the Saturday Silhouettes meme.

    Like

  45. jammy7000 says:

    What a wonderful atmospheric and evocative entry, Jesh! I loved your photos and words.
    Thanks for taking part in the Travel Tuesday meme.

    Like

Love your comment! For you on Blogspot, I'll reply on your blog, since you otherwise won't see my reply.

