A WATERY EXPRESSION: THE AQUAREL

SCROLL DOWN for THURS. DOORS!

At times, ABC Wednesday throws me for a loop. For the A I had no inspiration. When I went to the English-Dutch dictionary,  I saw words like Art,  Arches (my favorite watercolor paper), Aquarel! Okay then, I got back “in the zone:)”

 

Watercolor, Up Hill or Down Hill? © St Germain

California has been my source of education and inspiration. Not only in my approach to therapy, but also in art. In particular, in watercolor. Or, as they say in Europe, the acquarel.
Since I saw  so many approaches in watercolor here, I decided to try it out a long time ago. In Europe the aquarel does not have much prestige. The Great Old Masters used watercolor like soft pastel. More like a sketch, to “practice” the bigger oil painting.

Little did I know how addictive aquarel is. I went for at least five years to almost any watercolor workshop in the Los Angeles area (and there are many, where I lived, back then). Also, I spent each summer for about 10 years, a week in Yosemite Nat. Park, to study under the professional artist who would be there that week. If we would go for a day trip somewhere, I always had a field palette 3 brushes, and a small watercolor bloc in my purse of backpack.
So, when  changing to make the  oil medium  my main way of expression, it was a cinch. When you can handle watercolor, virtually any other medium is easier.
(Random: the R, ABC Wed. – A))

 

 

To become versatile, I did a wide range of subjects. Flowers, like Camellias, animals, buildings, etc.
(Random: the fun, Weekend Green)

 

 

 

Photo of a Camellia (so, this is not an aquarel!)
in Southern California they start blooming in January.
(Floral Bliss, Floral Fri Foto, Weekend Green)

 

 

 

 

Right now am in the mood for simplicity  in design.
Arg, am changing things on 2 computers, but even when I save, it doesn’t show up on the other. This is in El Dorado hills, one of the more modern and richer suburbs of Sacramento.
Thurs. Doors

 

 

 

 

An Old house in N. of the Netherlands, at the canal with a reflection.  The house is probably 16th century, but I would have to look up the gable. Very common  in the Netherlands is the low light.
Tue Treasure, Tue Travel, Weekend Reflection

 

 

 

January Sky
(Random: the Good, Nature Notes, Makro Tex, Sky Watch)

 

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Would love to hear from you what your Season is like!

We share our Seasonal experiences every sunday through Wednesday 7pm, Pacific time.
Hope to see you there!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

 

Are you doing an ART PROJECT? We like to see it at WEEKEND JOURNAL PAGE!

 

 

Link up your art project CLICK with a perma link in your comment
Anytime, from January 5 (Friday noon ) till February  8 (Thursday).
The next Weekend Journal Page begins, Friday February 9 at noon.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

 

 

Thanks to All the Hosts
Randomosity  *  Our World  *  through My Lens *
Tue Travel * Nature Notes * Tue Treasure * Pictoral Tue *
Floral Bliss Makro Tex – January *  Communal Global  *  Outdoor Wed. *
ABC Wed. – Aquarel  * Thurs. Doors  *
Thankful Thurs.Floral Fri Foto Sky Watch * Fri Photo travel  *
Weekend ReflectionWeekend Green * Fri Photo Journal  * Fri Photo Friends  *
*Sat. Snapshot * Pink Saturday *

41 Comments Add yours

  1. Lucy Corrander says:

    Water colour is certainly very difficult. I tried – and failed.

  2. fun60 says:

    You are a very accomplished water colourist.

  3. Tamar says:

    So pretty! Very dreamy and delicate.

  4. I love your watercolor, and your camellia. I need to get my workroom ready so I can start painting again.

  5. jesh stg says:

    Yeah, hope you do it soon:)

  6. Your acquarel compositions are very pretty. And the real camellia, too!

  7. Peabea says:

    Oh how I envy those who can draw or do paintings or both. Yours are so lovely. Thanks for sharing.
    Peabea@Pictorial Tuesday

  8. Your paintings are so beautiful.

  9. Oh my goodness…You got to spend that much time in Yosemite. I love to read John Muir and his essays…So much inspiration..I always love your art work…hug..Michelle

  10. nancy chan says:

    I love water colour painting when I was in school but have never continued this hobby. Your painting is lovely. I am attracted by your Camellia. I have been wanting to get a plant.

  11. KL says:

    Love them. Watercolor has no prestige but I find watercolor very difficult to do. I think it’s uphill because to me the picture looks like I am standing and looking at the path going up.

  12. riitta k says:

    Your water colors are so beautiful, as is the pink & delicate camellia ❤

  13. what a mighty gift you were given with your talent… it amazes me every time

    Have you grabbed your award jet?
    Take a look at: https://abcwednesday.com/2018/01/08/grab-your/

    Have a splendid ♥-warming ABC-Wednes-day / -week
    ♫ M e l ☺ d y ♫ (ABC-W-team)
    http://melodymusic.nl/22-a

  14. Roger Green says:

    GREAT work. Hope you’re not having any weather/flooding/mudslide problems.

  15. Your camellia painting has a lovely delicateness to it. The greens are rich and vivid. I had no idea that quality can be got in watercolors. So much to learn.

  16. Jackie says:

    What can I say? Your photos and art are magnificent!

  17. Lovely watercolors, Jesh. The door’s not much, but the stone archway is wonderful. Happy New Year.

    janet

  18. Norm 2.0 says:

    Your door shot is beautiful. The entire location looks magical 🙂

  19. Peter B says:

    Beautiful watercolor work! I like that old house in the Netherlands. Very interesting roofline!

  20. Rose says:

    I love your watercolors….I want to try watercolors….have everything it takes just don’t get to it. I love how you say you always had them with you. I always have my camera with me…seldom without it these days.

  21. Hazel says:

    Watercolor – uphill or downhill is lovely. It’s like a scene on my son’s fairytale book.

  22. jesh stg says:

    Thank you Vicky – your sky Watch shot is beautiful with these little peach clouds! Have to see if you linked up fo Thurs. Doors…

  23. jesh stg says:

    Forgot you’re on WordPress:) With watercolors it’s for me: the simpler the better! Happy you like it!

  24. jesh stg says:

    Thank you Norm! How does it feel to be back in the Thurs. saddle?

  25. jesh stg says:

    Thank you Janet. Yes, the stone arch takes all the attention:) Since you travel quite a bit, did you for the end of the year? I didn’t, but I had 3, of which two unexpected get-togethers. So, am still recuperating from that, lol.

  26. No traveling at the end of the year. We have Christmas at our house. But I’m getting ready to go to Arizona to visit my parents, so that will be fun.

  27. jesh stg says:

    It probably would be warmer in Arizona:)

  28. It will be lovely, Jesh . It supposed to be in the low 70s and upper 60s. I think I can handle it! 😘

    janet

  29. jesh stg says:

    Excellent – have a great time with your parents!

  30. Thanks, Jesh, I always do.

  31. Suzy says:

    Wow your watercolours are amazing. I love painting with watercolour but I am such an amateur.

  32. Mascha says:

    Just found the right post even without link. Nice watercolours, flowers to paint is very difficult, well done!

  33. nannie2four says:

    Love all your fotos, but especially your own artwork… so very talented! Sorry to be so late to visit. Hope you have a blessed Sunday.

  34. James says:

    I like the reflection and the interesting shape of the house!

  35. jammy7000 says:

    Wonderful art work, Jesh. Watercolours are luminous and delicate and can be so hard to get “just right” as they are an unforgiving medium for the artist.
    I always enjoy your travel photos, they hide many surprises!
    Many thanks for taking part in the Travel Tuesday Meme.

  36. Your flower paintings are my favorites … they are so delicate, and kind of realistic but better than real if that makes any sense at all.

  37. That is a lovely camellia, Jesh and your painting captures the essence of the flower.
    Thanks for taking part in the Floral Friday Fotos meme.

  38. Watercolour always will be my favourite. Just like you, I actually found acrylic and oil a bit easier after playing with watercolour. Love your paintings, they are amazing! Beautiful photos of C And D, contrasting soft and hard. The old house in the Netherlands made me think of a painting by Monet. Thank you for sharing such a lovely collection with us!

    -Soma

Love your comment! For you on Blogspot, I'll reply on your blog, since you otherwise won't see my reply. Sorry, can't reach you if you have a google+ . If you have your profile set on Google account, I will not be able to comment back, since I opted out of the Google Analytics.