A GLIMPSE OF OTHER WORLDS

 

If you are looking for the ALL SEASONS post of this week (June 3-6), scroll down to the marine blue part, and click on the Seasons’ post listed!

 

Some years ago  we decided to visit our son who had then been teaching English  in China for a year. We figured  this might be the only opportunity we would get, not knowing how long son would stay there (he did 4 more years).

Since traveling is a passion of all three, we did a crazy thing, and visited the mainland: East (Nanchang  – 12 hrs. W. form Shang Hai, and Guang Zhou), South (Shen-zhen, across free China – Hong Kong) and North (Beijing) in a week, but we did go by plane .
Hotels are dirt cheap compared to Europe or America.  More than once we took the taxi, since they’re cheap, and trains are kind of unreliable in their schedule.

This is the king’s bed (and his concubines) in the middle of a huge hall.
Suddenly realized in the background of my image are two DOORS.
Of course, the bed must have some doors too, but the Forbidden City
(the royal palaces in Beijing)  is like the  Louvre  in France.
You walk for hours and hours, so in the long run
I was not as careful with my images.
Thurs. Doors, Weekend Reflection

 

 

One of the many marble separations (like fences) in the Forbidden City
(the royal palaces) in Beijing.
Tue Treasures, Travel Tue

 

JUST A REMINDER – this blog is almost running out of space and I will move to The Jesh Studio

 

We did not see many flowers in China (not enough time).
The humidity there reminded me of the humid rain forest building
in the Huntington Library Gardens,  where this flower was captured.
Makro-Tex: June. Nature Notes, Floral Bliss, Floral Fri Foto

 

 

 

Details of the old roof tops speaks of former wealth
Tue, Treasures, Communal Global, Fri Photo Journal

 

 

About the featured image – at the Great Wall was also  the Jade factory. In China, jade is valued (sometimes) even more than gold . Many objects are made from Jade dust, because it is so costly. By the way, there is not only green jade, but also red jade.
ABC Wed. – Valued

 

While I painted in the streets of Beijing (yay) , hubby and son went to the
Great Wall. Many people there, but no weather for talking shots.
The wall was enveloped by fog the whole time, and at times drizzle,
which gave for 90% humidity.
Sky Watch

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

JOIN THE FUN of sharing the EXPERIENCE  of your SEASON with us

link up with a photo from Sunday through Wednesday 7pm
Pacific time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Visit me at the Jesh Studio

In July I expect to be running out of space here at artworks,
so check the new one out before hand:)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks to All the hosts
Our World * Thu my Lens * Makro Tex: June
Tue Treasures * Tue Travel * Nature Notes * Pictoral Tue
Floral Bliss * ABC Wed-  V * Communal Global * Sun snap *
Thurs Doors Floral Fri Foto * Sky Watch *
FencesATW * Thankful Thurs. * Naturdonnerstag * Fri Travel Photo *
Weekend Reflection * Fri Photo JournalFri Photo Friends *

29 Comments Add yours

  1. Lydia C. Lee says:

    I didn’t know blogs could run out of space??? I’d love to go to the Great Wall. Am hoping to next year!

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Blog space is always a challenge when beautiful photos are shared.

  3. jesh stg says:

    That’s why I keep a backup on an external drive, although when we have a blackout, we have no generator. Thanks for the visit!

  4. Margy says:

    We have students from China who come to Powell River to attend high school here. They are like exchange students, except there is no actual “exchange.” The school district has a partnership with a school in China that uses the BC curriculum. The students come here for at least a semester (it might be a year) to be able to get a diploma through our program. It is good for our school district that is having a declining enrollment. The graduating class this year was 170 I believe. – Margy

  5. Joyful says:

    I enjoyed your post but I can’t see any photos. Maybe they are still loading. I’ll wait a bit.

  6. pappilanmummo says:

    Beautiful summer!

  7. Marie-OR says:

    Oh wow! How I would adore seeing the Forbidden City and the Great Wall. What an amazing trip!

  8. Kay Davies says:

    When we visited China, I was unable to tackle the Great Wall, so my husband went up with our tour group while I stayed in the gift shop. By the time he got back, I had just about talked myself into buying a string of pearls that I didn’t need.
    I enjoyed your photos. So many memories.
    Kay
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

  9. riitta k says:

    Stunning views & details from China! Your flower reminds a bit the potatoe flower – maybe related?

  10. Valued! Great minds and all that! I just watched Who Do You Think You Are, re Julie Chen’s Chinese roots on her mother’s side. Recommended.

  11. Something that old and great parrt of an important historie should be valued indeed

    Have a splendid, ♥-warming ABC-Wednes-day / -week
    ♫ M e l ☺ d y ♪ (ABC-W-team)
    http://melodymusic.nl/22-V

  12. I like your foggy Great Wall photo. I’m used to feeling cold in fog so the idea of a warm fog confounds me. 🙂

  13. That must have been quite a trip, Jesh. The bedroom is so opulent, but I wouldn’t love having my bed just out in a huge hall!!

    janet

  14. prior.. says:

    It does look humid and thick and I still love the wall photo – even with the fog
    but my fav image of this post is the detailed roof – so artsy

  15. Jackie says:

    China was amazing and I loved the food.

  16. Norm 2.0 says:

    Lovely shots indeed.
    I will keep an eye open for the move to the new blog. Hopefully I don’t lose track – cheers 🙂

  17. jesh stg says:

    Janet, that’s I think why the bed is surrounded with all the screens you see. yeah, I have another idea about intimate and cozy too:)

  18. Betty Crow says:

    Beautiful architecture!

  19. Peter B says:

    I’m in awe of your China travel! Amazing to me the places you visited. And no idea jade came in red! (or that you could run out of blog space!!).

  20. Interesting pictures! I always shrink my photos before posting. I knew a guy who ran out of space on Blogspot years ago but I have over 6,360 posts on it and I haven’t run out yet.

  21. Eileen Wise says:

    wow, awesome trips and photos. It is an amazing place to visit. Happy Friday, enjoy your day and weekend!

  22. Peabea says:

    Always enjoy photos of travel and places as I don’t really go out of the U.S. Not because wouldn’t like to but with retirement; not feasible so I enjoy the ones shared. I travel that way. Thanks for sharing

    Peabea from Peabea Scribbles

  23. What an amazing place the Forbidden City is. I might get there one of these years. Love the purple flower, Jesh, the petals look like leaves, reminds me a bit of bougainvillea. We had lots of that in our garden in Spain.

  24. Angie says:

    Such interesting architecture … as this is not a place I plan to visit in my lifetime, I appreciate your shots very much!

  25. What a great insight into the country. I’ve always wanted to see the Great Wall of China in real life.

  26. Hi Jesh, great memories of China that I recall from your photos. I probably stood in similar spots at the Forbidden City and I managed to make my trek up the Great Wall to say I was there (there was even a camel on the wall for people to get a souvenir photo if they got on the camel’s back); the Emporers might be turning in their graves knowing that at the last barrier on the top of the Badaling section of the Great Wall, they blocked it so you can’t go any further but just in front of it, they erected a tent and were selling computer printed photos of customers willing to pose for their photo souvenirs. Glad you had the opportunity to paint on the streets; we visited a place where I saw many painters setting up their easels to paint some nice scenes (got my photos of that).

  27. jesh stg says:

    Thank you for your visit! Nice to share some memories about Bejing,isn’t it? It’s so different from the West, that it would not be easy to forget about our time there. it was my first time back in Asia since I was 5 years old. When did you go to Beijing, Gordon? We went in 2007 (the year before the Olympics), and when I told the twenty-something with flawless English at the Bed and Breakfast I had painted in the streets, she told me “Oh, that is not done here.”

Love your comment! For you on Blogspot, I'll reply on your blog, since you otherwise won't see my reply. Sorry, can't reach you if you have a google+ . If you have your profile set on Google account, I will not be able to comment back, since I opted out of the Google Analytics.