CITY WALK

FOR YOU WHO are looking for the ALL SEASONS post this week (open till Wednesday 7pm), it is the  post underneath this one.
If you don’t know how to navigate: scroll down to the marine blue part, and click on All Seasons post in the row of posts listed there:)

 

Would not have chosen to visit the financial district in any city, also not that of San Francisco. Alas, we had to be there to renew our passports. During my psychological training I learned the technique of “reframing.” Here, I reframed my dislike into an opportunity.

An opportunity to take loads of city shots, that I otherwise would have missed. Especially of high rise buildings, reflections,  ritzy stores., or opulant and unusual designs.
Actually this cities’ financial district is much more interesting than that of Los Angeles.

 

 

The elevator was preset. Meaning,  even with the receipt we had of an appointment, we couldn’t go to any other floor than the Dutch embassy. Very clever!

A quick shot from the  31 st floor, before it’s my turn to give my info
and fingerprints for my passport. Maybe be you see three flags waving
from the top of the lower building in front.
Travel Tue, Abc Wed.

 

 

 

How is it that I often find birds close to parking places for cars?
Sat. Critters

 

 

In an environment of steel and glass, flowers are even more
a breath of fresh air!
Makro-Tex: Flower, Floral Bliss, Floral Fri Foto

 

 

The escape stairs of this building actually caught more attention
than the simple door:)
Thurs. Door

 

 

 

 

Reflections and Sky

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

JOIN THE FUN – share your EXPERIENCE of the SEASON

Photo link is open from Sunday thu Wednesday 7pm,
Pacific time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Visit my blog  the Jesh studio.

The more “me” blog.  Tell me what you think!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks to All the Hosts
Our world * Thru my Lens * Makro Tex: Flower *Jo’s Walk
*Floral Bliss * Nature Notes * Tue Travel * Pictoral Tue * Tue Treasures *
* ABC Wed –  T  * Communal Global * Sun Snap *
*Thurs. DoorFloral Friday Foto Sky Watch * Thankful Thurs. *
*Weekend Reflections * Fri Photo Journal * Fri Photo Friends *
*Pink Saturday * Sat. Critters*

40 Comments Add yours

  1. Great perspectives of the Passport Office, and the Salesforce building!

  2. ewok1993 says:

    Nice collection of shots. My favorite is the jasmine; I can almost smell its sweet fragrance.

    Worth a Thousand Words

  3. restlessjo says:

    A preset lift! How suspicious are those guys? I suppose security is a major issue around there, and I agree you’ve found some captivating aspects of the district, Jesh. Love that staircase shot and yes, they do look like jasmine. Wishing you a great week too! 🙂 🙂

  4. ladyfi says:

    Wonderful views and shots.

  5. Great photos! Cities can be interesting too.

  6. jesh stg says:

    My guess is that there may be more embassies than the Dutch one located in the building – or – some serious banking related orgs. This is the clincher – the official address brought us to a large large dark hall with chandeliers. The man in charge there (looked to me like an army general) referred us to a certain floor, clicked a button on his panel, which brought us to very different white and gold hall, which was the building where the embassy was located. A (less militant) lady here asked us for the receipt, and the rest you know.
    The first part I didn’t even remember till I wrote it down here.
    Realizing this makes me feel like being in a John Grisham movie!

  7. restlessjo says:

    Sounds just like one, Jesh 🙂 🙂

  8. Margy says:

    It’s nice when cities set aside places for plants, trees and flowers. – Margy

  9. Nice! You made the best of visiting the big city. Since I also like to avoid big cities, I enjoyed your photos of the Financial District.

  10. Marie-OR says:

    Reframing your dislike into opportunity! I love that! And I love the way you “framed” your shots!

  11. Reframing is desperately necessary!

  12. I would love to stand on top with my camera 😉

    Have a splendid, ♥-warming ABC-Wednes-day / -week
    ♫ M e l ☺ d y ♪ (ABC-W-team)
    http://melodymusic.nl/22-S

  13. riitta k says:

    Plants & flowers are so needed in cities. Happy week Jesh!

  14. Linda P says:

    Green spaces, planters full of flowers, window boxes and roof gardens are important features in good town and city design. Flowering shrubs such as the jasmine give a lot of pleasure. Glad you spotted that fragrant plant. A lovely shot!

  15. Peabea says:

    True, your photos look like it was worth the trip into town. I pick the stair escape as my favorite. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    Peabea from Peabea Scribbles

  16. Peabea says:

    True, your photos look like it was worth the trip into town. I pick the stair escape as my favorite. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.
    Peabea from Peabea Scribbles

    Sorry, reposting my comment. Forgot to change to my Blogger since I’m not posting at wordpress.

  17. Great photos, Jesh. I hope that fire escape actually goes down to the street. During the 1989 Earthquake in SF we found out that our fire escape ended above the garage. It’s a good thing nothing serious happened to our building so that we could head back into our apartment, push the bookcase and books away from the door, and exit that way.

  18. Kelleyn says:

    Great shots! How long have you lived in the states?

  19. Norm 2.0 says:

    I’m not sure if it’s the perspective or the way the light is hitting it but the upper portion of those fire-escape stairs look like they’re painted onto the side of the building. Nice shots 🙂

  20. jesh stg says:

    Thank you Deborah! Had to take the image with the staircases through a couple of filters and clean up some ads on the left side, but I like how it softened the light.

  21. jesh stg says:

    Thank you Norm! It’s probably a combination of the light and the filters I took it through in photoshop that the contrast is strongly reduced (which I wanted, to make it look more friendly!).

  22. Peter B says:

    I like the idea of “reframing”… kind of turning a negative into a positive, which you absolutely did! Wonderful reflections off the modern buildings. San Francisco is one of my favorite cities to walk around with a camera. I love it!

  23. Betty Crow says:

    You certainly turned a dreaded chore into a magical experience. Love this post!

  24. I try to avoid cities too, and I manage to do so very well. But whenever in a city I would do the same: take as many photos of high and glittering buildings as I could. That last photo is a great example!

  25. I am more appreciative of birds and flowers than tall buildings. However, the building with the fire escape is very interesting!
    Have a great weekend!

  26. Sharon says:

    I love the fire escape photo! I notice fire escapes and for some reason they fascinate me. I took photos of several in downtown San Francisco–they are on every street there!

  27. jesh stg says:

    Maybe because I lived there for so long, I can’t even remember if this is the same in down down LA!

  28. If you want security you should try visiting the American Embassy in London! Love your city shots.

  29. jesh stg says:

    Is it worse??

  30. Nice building for a reflection.

  31. slfinnell says:

    From lemons to lemonade in my opinion. Great shots!

  32. jesh stg says:

    unless you don’t like lemonade, like I (just kidding:)) Thank you for stopping by!

  33. slfinnell says:

    Well maybe change it into wine 🍷😉

  34. Angie says:

    I can visit cities for (very) short periods – I am getting very spoiled by the quiet remoteness of our log house!

  35. jesh stg says:

    Yay, I love wine!

  36. klara says:

    lovely series. first one is my pick. such a great view.

  37. Kay Davies says:

    I’ve never seen a part of San Francisco that I didn’t like. Just being there was a treat. But I understand the need for reframing one’s opinions, and wish I could do so more often! Thanks for sharing.
    Kay
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

Love your comment! For you on Blogspot, I'll reply on your blog, since you otherwise won't see my reply. Sorry, can't reach you if you have a google+ . If you have your profile set on Google account, I will not be able to comment back, since I opted out of the Google Analytics.