ALL SEASONS – JULY IS ALMOST GONE

 

                    Hello All Seasons Bloggers,

Link is open Sunday July 23 – Wednesday, July 26 til 7 pm, Pacific Time.

 

Many thanks for linking all of your beautiful posts with lovely experiences! They were all so well captured and prepared!

Lisa ( the first),  Marleen (the two-next-to-last),  and Amalia,  (the last), had in  their post about something hand made. Check it out, it’s worth  your while!
(Go to the last All Seasons’ post and click on their image – I think you still can access the thumbnails pics even after the linky list is closed for the week)

In my own  post for this week, am showing a watercolor (the post is titled  (“Details make the Difference”) Am thinking about a link up for (next to All Seasons) art in the Fall … we’ll see ….

Are you enjoying your Season? This week we finally cooled down a few degrees to the nineties! This made me move to paint on the higher levels of my painting (because it’s 10 degrees warmer than on the floor!)

 

 

 

 

 

NEW here?  Press CLICK to see what All Seasons is about!

 

One of my favorite SIMPLE salads
Since we live in California we eat salads for a great part of the year – from May –  October at least. Usually I make the salad the main part of the meal, just adding a few potatoes, or pasta, with a fistful amount of meat or fish

Belgian Andive Salad
(Belgian andive is white and at times has some green on  top, or the fancy one they sell at Trader Joe with red and green on top of the leaves. It has a shape (somewhat)t like a flame and is about 5 inches long in the USA. In Europe it is often longer.  It also goes by the name of Chicory. Choose a sweet apple since Belgian andive is has a slightly bitter taste.

Very simple. Slice the Belgian Andive fine
mix with 2 hard boiled eggs – slice
a sweet apple, cubed

Dressing
mayonnaise
white vinegar or 1/2 teaspoon Dyon mustard
salt, pepper

As soon as the Belgian andive is cut, put the dressing on it, so it won’t turn brown, the same with the apple. In Holland Belgian andive is boiled in winter and eaten with an egg-and cheese sauce.

 

 

 

 

Even when we lived in the Los Angeles area, we liked to spend the weekend being in nature, like a park or botanical gardens or hiking in  the mountains. This interesting looking trunk in the African or Australian part of the Huntington (Botanical) Gardens.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Still in the same part of the garden –  so many cacti have  beautiful blooms

 

 

 

What do you like to do or see on a weekend afternoon?

 

Your turn to share your experience of this SEASON

Press CLICK HERE below to add you post to the linky list, so others can enjoy it too!

 

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

 

20 Comments Add yours

  1. jesh stg says:

    Thank you much Debbie! – will look Sunday evening to leave you a comment (Pacific time)

  2. Debbie Smyth says:

    I like the sound of your salad! I must try it. And this flowering cacti are beautiful

  3. Kelleyn says:

    The tree is pretty funky! Love the details on the church on the previous post. Have a great week!

  4. Carol says:

    all I see today is an inside view of a lot of rain in the yard. I want to try your salad – I’ve never really made a salad with endive. I’m a big salad eater.

  5. tgeriatrix says:

    These cacti blossoms, are gorgeous!

  6. kenschneider says:

    That is a really unusual and interesting tree. The cactus bed looks intimidating but beautiful.

  7. jMo says:

    Such a beautiful and noble tree. The shape is wild and it looks like a healthy group of plant life is growing on and around it. It reminds me of a comic Shakespearean character, like a drunken Falstaff.

  8. The tree scene is so magical looking. I must find out more about the cactus. I love the contrast of red and white. It’s cooler here, too. Hurrah!

  9. Salads are one of our favourite meals also, Jesh. We use seasonal produce and often harvest from our back garden.
    Lovely shots! Thanks for hosting.

  10. PS: And some flowers from wintry Melbourne for you too…

  11. Mascha says:

    Such a richness of fauna in LA (we can only dream about)! The salad looks so yummy and is simple enough for me, will make it. I like andives… and green beans too.
    On weekend afternoons we are normally together with my sweetheart and make a little walk through the forest or to the caste. There is a sunny wine terrace, were we like to sit and read our books, there my spend a lot of hours during the year.
    When I’m alone (he is one week every month in Berlin with his parents), I’m working in the garden or sitting with the cat in the garden chair, relaxing…

  12. Lovely photos and what a magnificent tree!

    -Soma

  13. Alexa T says:

    Beautiful blossoms of cacti and so interesting large tree… very unusual trunk!! Also, a delicious recipe; it looks similar to seasoned potatoes salad with boiled eggs, chicken and olives. Plus the vinaigre sauce added.
    Thank you for your lovely comment and the reminder… A very nice day and week, too!

  14. Your cactus is really pretty and so full of blooms! I’ve never had an endive salad.

    I sent you an email about possibly being in your area. Let me know what you think after reading it. xx

  15. jesh stg says:

    I wish this was my cactus, but it stands in the Huntington Library gardens in Pasadena!

  16. Klara S says:

    I could spend hours in gardens.
    Thank you for hosting.

  17. Klara S says:

    Waiting for Sunday 🙂

Love your comment! For you on Blogspot, I'll reply on your blog, since you otherwise won't see my reply. Sorry, can't reach you if you have a google+ . If you have your profile set on Google account, I will not be able to comment back, since I opted out of the Google Analytics.