ALL SEASONS – NATURE OR CULTURE ? (JUNE 18)

 

 

     Hello Season Bloggers,

Other than that it’s always fun to see your beautiful renditions of what you have experienced, at this point, it becomes more evident from your images in which “season” you live. (Season as in weather, or season of your life). I LIKE it – it’s more personal!

Happy Fathers Day to the Father in your family!

 

Some of our likes or dislikes may have to do with our upbringing.  But both hubs and I did an extreme left turn. Other than the move from Indonesia to Holland, my parents were a stay home family. Both hubs and I love traveling, other cultures and cultural events, and nature. Guided travels and tours are not enjoyable to us.

Nature is a serious addiction! For me, it’s beyond loving flowers or forests and mountains. It’s eco-cycles, tectonic plates, archeology, I never know enough …

what inspires you, turns you upside down, inside out? (if it is sports, yoga, games, fashion or make up, please don’t expect me to be able to give you a meaningful response)

 

NEW Here? Press on CLICK to see what All SEASONS is all about!

Moss is one of the most intriguing details providing structure on mountain rocks. This at Big Bear Lake, CA

 

 

 

 

 

To find a happy medium, a botanical garden. Was spoiled to have two close by in the Los Angeles area. One was the gardens of the Huntington Library, with gardens with plants from virtually all over the world, a few small art museums, and a large collection in the library.

 

 

 

 


Most of us have to do with what is around on cultural things. Here a  bronze statue of the rider of the ginormous turtle is in a park in Amsterdam, done by

Jan Fabre , a Belgian artist. Note, not Dutch, but Belgian! This artwork, is 7 m. long, 5 m. high and 3 meters high, called “Searching for Utopia.”  He is known for Bic-Art (ballpoint drawing). Has done some very controversial art involving animals, which I will not repeat here. One of the highlights in his career was his exhibit in the Louvre, in 2008. All this info you can find in Wikipedia.

 

About the COMMENT section. In many WordPress themes the comment section is not immediately seen.
S
ome at Blogspot have alerted me that  they had to click on the three horizontal lines (top right), or on the left half of the page, before it became visible on the bottom on the right side.
If you still have trouble, please email me at Jeannette.coevorden1@yahoo.com

 

 

YOUR TURN to share your “LIKE* with your link of your photo on the linky list. Press on “Click here” below!

 

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Carol says:

    Have a lovely day!

  2. jMo says:

    So what’s the story behind the dude on the turtle? You have a lot of nature right out your door, don’t you? I guess for a small town we’ve got a lot going on and since I live on the edge of town between a state park and nature preserve there’s a lot going on outside my front door too.

  3. I love that statue. I’m curious about the story behind it, too. Happy week. Hope you’re getting some breeze up there.

  4. I’m a big fan of nature 🙂 I love the way the moss growing creates a feeling of being in an enchanted forest. I do love seeing interestesting statues. I did not get a chance to see this work, nor did I know anything about it, when I was in Amsterdam. It looks like it would be quite impressive to see in person.

  5. Lifecycle says:

    Hi Jesh, to get to the comments section, I just click on the title of the post. It then reloads and gives me the comments.
    Like you, whenever we travel we do so on our own and never on guided tours. Spontaneous adventures and unplanned side-trips always eventuate and they provide for amazing sightseeing, unexpected discoveries and meeting of fantastic people.

  6. Rose says:

    I had to go and look up his other work…almost wish I hadn’t. But I do that almost any time I see something like this. Just too weird for my tastes….not this one, but the other. I kind of like this one. It must be huge in person.

  7. jesh stg says:

    Agree, the size of the sculpture was impressive. But what is written about the sculptor is disappointing, so no need for taking the time to do it!
    Apropos, Amy, you are very welcome to link onto All Seasons wit one of your gorgeous photos – the link is open till Wednesday evening 7 pm.!

  8. bettyl - NZ says:

    Oh, yes, nature is my number one obsession for photos! I didn’t take photos much (ok, not at all) before I moved to New Zealand but, when I got here, I HAD to share the wonderful scenery with my friends back in Kansas!
    I googled the artist in question and I see why you didn’t show any of his other work–not my cup of tea 🙂

  9. jMo says:

    Thank you for the info on Jan Fabre, it looks like he’s worth further exploration. I haven’t figured out if this artwork is installed permanently somewhere or keeps moving around. I did find out that he is the guy on the turtle.
    Did you know that when you click on your icon (when you leave comments) that it still links to your old blog? Thanks again for sharing this artist.

  10. Mitzi says:

    I’m like you…always fascinated about the moss…the soft looking moss on the ground or rocks is always so inviting!

Love your comment! For you on Blogspot, I'll reply on your blog, since you otherwise won't see my reply. Sorry, can't reach you if you have a google+ . If you have your profile set on Google account, I will not be able to comment back, since I opted out of the Google Analytics.