MAGNIFICENT MOUNTAINS

 

TO  all the Fathers: A HAPPY FATHERS DAY!

 

Ready for high mountains and waterfalls ?

 

 

One of my non-digital pics. These may be the Cathedral Rocks, but I’m not sure. Xmas trees galore:)
Sitting on these rocks in front of the river in Yosemite National Park to paint this scene,
with a look at Bridal Veil Falls on the right side.
1) (Random: The Good, ABC Wed. -X, Fri Hunt)

 

 

 

 

Oil, 16 x 20 inch, Bridal Veil Falls, Yosemite Nat. Park, © St Germain
A painted snapshot of the view of the image above.
This post began because I was missing this plein air) I once painted, when unpacking the rest of my painting in the studio.

 

 

 

Fri Hunt
Begin with V: Bridal Veil Falls
Week’s Favorite: Cathedral Mountains (1)
Splash: more than a splash coming down from the Falls

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here I was painting the view above , sitting on a rock. On many places I can’t use an easel, because there are too many rocks or the incline is too sharp. Fine with me:) Has been “some” years ago, judging from the length of my hair, lol!

 

 

 

 

Diverting from Yosemite for a moment: I love all kinds of trees, but I have never seen a trunk like this one, so twisted, in Beijing, not far from the Forbidden City.
One Word Sunday Photo: Entwined, Tue Texture, Tue Travel, Travel Photo Thurs )

 

 

 

 

When outdoors the whole day on a trip, this may be the most important door you see:)
keeping fingers crossed it will be clean inside.
(Tue Treasure, Thurs. Doors

 

 

 

 

 


Tiny Buttercups and they are XANTHIC (yellow:) )
Floral Bliss, Makro-Tex: Tiny, ABC Wed. , Floral Fri Foto. Bloom Fri, Weekend Green)

 

 

 

 

At the patio, underneath the fence, laying in wait for a morsel of food
(Random: the R, Fences ATW, Sat. Critters)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is in summer, because these meadows are only then without snow! The road to these mountains are usually closed off till May. Love the higher altitudes, even though you have to walk slower at 9000 feet, since there’s less oxygen in the air. Small and subtle reflections in the water.
(Sky Watch, Weekend Reflection)

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ready to share your SEASON? – you’ll see some beautiful, witty, fun, and informative ones!

Just click on an ALL SEASONS post -Sunday through Wednesday
till 7 pm, Pacific time
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Thanks to All the Hosts
One Word Sunday Photo: Entwined * 365 days of Art * Randomosity * Through my Lens * Our World *
Tue Treasure * Tue Texture Nature Notes* Tue Travel * ABC Wed. – X *  * Floral Bliss * Makro Tex – Tiny * Outdoor Wed. * Communal Global  *
Thurs. Door Thankful Thurs. * Floral Fri Foto * Fences ATW * Weekend Travel Inspiration  *  Sky Watch *
* Weekend Reflection  * Fri Photo Journal * Blooming Friday* Weekend Green * Fri Hunt * Sat. Critters *

40 thoughts on “MAGNIFICENT MOUNTAINS

  1. Love the mountains and Yosemite so much …and the door shot made me laugh! I do know just what you mean, believe me, I have been there! Thank you for hosting Seasons… I loved your photo collection there. As you see, travel and camping across the country are things we enjoy!

    Like

  2. Great painting of Bridalveil Fall, and neat image of you painting in Yosemite!

    I thought the squirrel was a little log for a second. His shape and coloring really blend in with the wooded area.

    I love the view from the meadow.

    Like

    • Thank you Deborah! The first moment I saw that squirrel I thought the same that it was a log of wood, till I spotted the tail:)Living in LA, Yosemite was for about two decades the green, fresh air and fun we needed!

      Like

  3. I love the view of those mountains from the meadow. I don’t often get to very high elevations. The squirrel appears to by enjoying his day. 🙂 It’s so funny, I can tell when a picture was taken by my hairstyle as well!

    Like

  4. I love Yosemite and your painting of it’s magnificent waterfall is very beautiful! O+ feet high altitude mountains are still snow filled but it is melting fast as our temperatures go up. We live at 6,000 feet, but visit 14,000 feet mountains which literally take our breath away in more ways than one!

    Like

  5. Lovely views of these mountains! I especially like the photo of you painting. What a pleasure it must be to capture the grandeur of these mountains in your art. I must stick to photos but I certainly admire your talent!

    Like

    • Thank you Sharon! Coming originally from a flat land, the mountains have inspired my curiosity to discover what is beyond that hill in front of me. Something tells me that you have more talents than photography:)

      Like

  6. Lovely painting but I’m in love with anything Yosemite 😉
    Yes on the trail that door can be a lifesaver, and I remember on a number of occasions approaching one of those and praying it would be “clean” inside 😀

    Like

    • Thank you Narami. I don’t remember if I felt small amidst mountains, I guess I like “big” nature displays around me. But I do remember that I felt like a sojourner in life.

      Like

  7. What a famous nature (saw a docu about Josemite) and beautiful painting! I’ve never tried paint outdoor… Cute squírrel and earlier we had such little wooden houses too, today they all are from plastic here in Germany.
    Thanks for joining, enjoy your weekend

    Like

  8. Such beautiful pictures as always Jesh! The tree is magnificent. I also really like your squirrel – it was interesting for me to compare it with the squirrels I see and notice all the differences.

    Like

  9. I love all the beautiful mountain scenes! It was nice to see a picture of you in action with your paint brush. Cute, fat squirrel. 🙂 Thanks so much for joining Friday’s Hunt. Have a great rest of your week!

    Like

Love your comment! For you on Blogspot, I'll reply on your blog, since you otherwise won't see my reply.

