ALL SEASONS – A MARCH WINTER

 

From my Facebook page. Cannot remember when it happened they were skating on the canal Prinsengracht in Amsterdam! On the right small inset, close to a bridge. This is how little kids learn to skate – on the canals:)

 

This week the link is open from Sunday March 4 through Wednesday evening March 8 till 7pm, Pacific time.

Hello ALL SEASONS Blog Friends,

Thank you so much for your beautiful posts last week! Many of you have been here since the beginning of the three years, and  I cannot thank you enough for jumping in there and taking time to hone a skill –  that, it is:):)

This is the craziest March ever! It was always such a quiet and peaceful month.  In the California mountains here it has snowed now 4 times, last week each time with a melting day in between, and  we are snowed in.
Not that the snow is that high, but we live on an unpaved road. Then when we come on the road there are 13 hairpin corners in a row. Too dangerous without snow chains!
Don’t worry, two weeks ago I had that sudden urge to buy groceries for 3 weeks. Now 2 weeks have gone by.

Wish I could talk to the clouds, because they’re really confused today – hail – rain – snow – sun – snow. There is still some more snow predicted in coming days, so the least I can do is to post  what I see from my window.

 

 

Mr Owl what do you say?
Why I can be so lighthearted about snow is, that it is not long enough to get bored with it, like in Holland and other Northern countries.

 

 

 

Nature makes the most complex patterns

 

 

 

Now painting in the living room, because it’s too cold in
the studio 🙂 The blinds are only closed to take the pic:)

 

Press Click Here below to join our linky list with a photo, and see what each other season looks like:):)

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

24 Comments Add yours

  1. Angie says:

    I have dreams of learning to paint … it’s on my retirement list … in the meantime, I am inspired by those who can! Thanks for hosting All Seasons!

  2. Debbie Smyth says:

    Some great snowy images, Jesh.
    Our snow is on its way out now – British rain is clearing out the Siberian snow!

  3. jesh stg says:

    Yeah, I heard that they called it in Europe the Siberian snow – chuckle – Even in Nice, S. of France on the Mediterranean snow fell – crazy!

  4. kenschneider says:

    We have had just the opposite here in south Florida. February had record heat and very little precipitation. What happened to winter?

  5. Klara S says:

    Snow definitely makes world wonderful!
    Thank you for hosting.

  6. Carol says:

    I’ve only ice skated once in my life. My high school church group drove to a big city not far from our town to an ice rink. I liked it but spent most of my time picking myself up off the ice. My ankles were sore for days.

  7. jesh stg says:

    I wished it was different, but that is common and belongs to learning to skate:):) I never got to the point that I did it flawlessly:)

  8. Sorry to hear you’ve been blocked in by the snow. We finally got about 3 days of straight raining. Hurrah! I want to sow wildflower seeds before the next rain. Your tree photo is lovely.

  9. handmade by amalia says:

    Lovely winter scenes, however uncomfortable. Our winter seems to have disappeared.
    Amalia
    xo

  10. I don’t mind the snow–I actually wish we had more of it this winter! Today was extremely windy, and so fire danger is high in our area. I like the skating scene. I was a good skater years ago but I believe I would have trouble doing it now

  11. WOMEN says:

    Lovely snowy photos, Jesh. I am a little envious of snowy weather as it VERY rarely snows in Melbourne.
    The painting looks as though it is inspired by the weather? Rainy sky and umbrellas?

  12. Sallie says:

    It seems you do have the ideal 4 seasons …some winter, but it doesn’t last too long! We pretty much skip it (on purpose) but also ,sadly , skip early spring as a consequence…. that wintery tree photo is lovely and I’m betting an inspiration for a painting! Intrigued by your Amsterdam memory in the header photo! Hard to imagine the Canal we live on frozen like that. Thanks for hosting Seasons… those years have gone by fast!

  13. Joanne Sisco says:

    By this time of year, the novelty of snow and cold has long worn off. My heart is already starting to sing about green and colour … I’m just waiting for Mother Nature to catch up 🙂
    … but today is going to be another glorious sunny day, so I’ll be taking advantage of it regardless of the outside temperature!

  14. I love how snow highlights the majesty and beauty of naked trees.
    Good idea working indoors – I’m doing the same right now.
    Wishing you a happy week,
    Ruby

  15. Thanks for hosting Jesh! Staying indoors and painting is a great idea in Winter…

  16. I remember when I was in primary school that we learnt about the canals and dykes of Holland. Now I can see from your picture that it is true – you do skate on the canals! Keep warm and have a wonderful week.

  17. Kelleyn says:

    I didn’t realize your house was so rural until just now. And here I have been complaining. Haha! The store is one block from my apartment, so if it does snow my son can just walk on over and get whatever items we are missing.

  18. What a magnificent tree, looks gorgeous in the snow. I am glad you didn’t have to drive out. That is beautiful photo of you. Stay warm and paint the day away 🙂

    -Soma

  19. betty - NZ says:

    I was never coordinated enough to skate! I love your snow scenes. But I hope it doesn’t last too much longer 🙂

  20. Excellent photos. Our weather has been confused too!

  21. Jeanna says:

    Learning to skate on the canals sounds soooo cool, I really miss skating, but I’m afraid if I fell which I did a lot, I’d never get up, lol.

Love your comment! For you on Blogspot, I'll reply on your blog, since you otherwise won't see my reply. Sorry, can't reach you if you have a google+ . If you have your profile set on Google account, I will not be able to comment back, since I opted out of the Google Analytics.