MY ECLECTIC CHOICES

 

Eclectic is tongue in cheek, since in my psychological training it was considered a nasty word. Have to agree that psychology should not be lowered to a jack of all trades, as some have done, for the sake of earning more $$! But I am not a one-thing person,  more eclectic:)

red-and-grey-sunset_3353

The sunsets have been gorgeous since it’s cooler now.

 

 

native-bluebird_6024

Since the Native Americans are closely connected to nature, we watched a concert of song and dance of the first inhabitants of N. America the last weekend of September. Forgot to take pic of the drum, so powerful in their call to war.  Have seen Native dances before, but here they spoke about their culture. Was impressed with the meaning of honor, shown in  everything they said and did.
(Blue Monday, Tue Treasures, Tue Travel)

 

 

 

dangerous-enough_2265

 

 

 

 

My EYES  dangerous enough?
Another warrior – the one who only does it for the costumes and the accessories:)

 

 

 

Fri Hunt
Begin with O: Official regalia (first image)
Week’s Favorite: Native American dress
Eyes: Boo’s dangerous eyes (above)

 

 

doornative-sonsgoldenwest_7197

Native Sons of the Golden West. It looks like a front door, because there is no other door, in an alley in Auburn, CA.
According to Wikipedia it is a fraternal organization, limited to native born Californians, dedicated to historic preservation, structures, and places in the state of California. Auburn is a touristy town, with at least 10 art galleries, and a nice center in town.
(Good Fences, Thurs. Door)

 

 

reflectcarwindows_2842

Reflections of lights in a shopping center in Irvine, on all year long – in case you think they maybe Christmas lights:). (Weekend Reflections)

 

 

oldsac-originground_2305

 

 

 

Old Town Sacra-
mento – monuments on the level the ground was, when the city was established (Good Fences)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

sandiegooldtown_9950

seen in Old Town San Diego

 

 

birdieonthefountain_6596

Birdie: Blow harder, Jack! Huntington Library Gardens
(Sky Watch, Fri Greens, Sat. Critters, Water World)

 

 

Join the fun of sharing your Season (any experience) –
every Sunday -Wednesday

SeasonsWidgetBlog2_4269 copy

PLEASE REMEMBER Am changing the name next week to
ALL SEASONS!

 

Good Fences  Thurs. Door * Floral Fri Foto  Sky Watch  *
Weekend Reflection  * Todays Flowers * Fri Photo Journal  * Fri Greens *
Fri. Hunt  *
Maleviks Rosen  *  Sat. Critters  * Our Beautiful World  *
Blue Monday  * Monday Window  * Life Through Lens  *  Our World  *
Tue Treasure * Tue Texture  * Nature Notes  * Tue  Travel  *
ABC Wed. – Native  *  Outdoor Wed. * Water World  * Communal Global *

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

33 Comments Add yours

  1. Sunrise was nice yesterday, but I wasn’t in a good place to photograph it. Your sunset was lovely!

    Aren’t those Pow-Wow’s moving! The drum, singers, and dancers are all quite interesting, and beautiful.

  2. Eileen Wise says:

    Hello, the sunset is gorgeous. Cute kiddie warrior. Pretty flowers and great capture of the bird on the fountain. Happy Thursday, enjoy your day and have a great weekend!

  3. Jim says:

    I like that fountain.

  4. TexWisGirl says:

    like the old town views. enjoy your fall!

  5. prior.. says:

    Hi Jesh – the entire post had me thinking one word” color.
    the colors are so fun – from he outstanding sky in the first shot to the color of the warrior toy to the flowers and even the lights! and nice door by the way – behind the fence it adds to the mood.

    🙂

  6. Carol says:

    Love the sunset

  7. I love how you captured that little bird on the fountain, great pic. We’ve been having the most amazing skies here, too, in Ireland. Autumn is my favourite time of year – I love the colours.

  8. Abrianna says:

    You must have gotten a chuckle when you read the description of my blog since I use the word eclectic in it 🙂

    Your comment on Skittles made me laugh- she was spayed before she came to me so no worries about her doing anything else but stretching in a very cute manner.

    I hope to post for Seasons on Sunday…but don’t know if I will have power. The worst of Matthew will hit us tomorrow and that is when the winds will pick up too. And there is another storm right behind him, Nicole. Besides the hurricane warning we have flash flood watch and warning and a tornado watch went p this afternoon and will be in effect until midnight-as of now.

  9. Peter B says:

    LOL at the photo of the “warrior”! Missing tooth and all.

  10. Eileen Wise says:

    Hello, pretty variety of photos. I love the cute bird. Thank you for linking up and sharing your post. Happy Saturday, enjoy your weekend!

  11. That’s a neat shot of the monuments in Old Town Sacramento. I know about the Native Daughters. Always wondered about whether there was also a Native Sons group.

  12. fun60 says:

    The reflection of those lights made me think of Christmas decorations. As you say beautiful sun rises and setting images at the moment and a wonderful series of photos this week.

  13. jesh stg says:

    We have a park very nearby with a lot of space to see skies. The first year we lived here, we took at least one pic of every sunset, lol!
    Am mesmerized with their dress, and their art. They are sooo creative visually and also their music!

  14. scotiaspinner says:

    Thanks for your visit to my blog! Yes, I did fly to Vegas – 2 flights each way. I’m not a comfortable flier either, so it was fairly stressful for me. The best thing about the weather there was the fact that I went swimming in an outdoor pool in October – not something you can do in my climate! But otherwise, I wouldn’t like to be in a place that is always so hot and dry. What a beautiful shot you took of that fountain. I also really love the sunset!

  15. ewok1993 says:

    I really like the shot of Old Town Sac.

    Worth a Thousand Words

  16. Hello Jesh, You mentioned my comments to you and I have to say, your posts are always so interesting. The Seasons theme is very clever. I admire all the work you do to cover so many subjects. Loved the landscape, the Indian dancer and especially Boo’s dangerous eyes. Smile!
    It is all good. I mean it!
    Happy Blue Monday.
    Hugs,
    Jeanne

  17. Sallie says:

    Oh your young warrior is so scary ;)))… a very nice collection of photos from your lovely home area.

  18. Melody62 says:

    lovely choice for N… I’ve never met one but they are very intriguing

    Have a wonderful ABC-day / – week
    ♫ M e l ☺ d y ♫ (abc-w-team)
    http://melodymusic.nl/abc-wednesday-19n/

  19. photowannabe says:

    Love the photo from Old Sac., but especially love the Native American. So colorful and full of character.

  20. DeniseinVA says:

    I love the variety of photos here Jesh. They make for a wonderful post. Thank you for sharing again with Today’s Flowers, so very much appreciated.

  21. lesliebc says:

    The British Columbia school curricula is including more First Nations information now in order to honour their heritage…at their insistence, of course.

    Leslie
    abcw team

  22. Marie-AZ says:

    I love posts like this! Another blogger friend used to call them “potpourri”…really enjoyed the Indian dancer, and the monuments next to the trees. All the shots were wonderful, however. A really perfect post!

  23. I like your eclectic style here. Loved the Indian dancer, the fountain, the fence & well all the photos really. Makes for a very interesting post to read.

  24. Joyce Hughes says:

    A nice eclectic mix. Love the fountain and the bird that posed so nicely for you.

  25. Love the photos of the Indian guy. Very cool!

  26. Great shots, Jesh!
    Thank you for joining the Floral Friday Fotos meme.

  27. narami says:

    Lovely post as always jesh but that second image? Awesome! Thanks for sharing in Tuesdays of Texture!

  28. I enjoyed seeing the Native American dressed in so many beautiful colors and holding feathers. I liked the bird, the fountain, etc. Thanks for sharing. See you next week.

  29. jesh stg says:

    Thank you so much! It helps when the flowers stand next to your front door – lots of opportunities to take some shots:)
    Often forget to tell you, but thank you for hosting Tue Texture, Narami! Have a great week!

  30. Teresa says:

    Wonderfully eclectic collection! I love the image of your little warrior. I think that second shot is my favorite this week. Thanks so much for joining in Friday’s Hunt. Sorry I’m so late to get around visiting this week (Obviously, I blame some goats).

  31. Roger Green says:

    that is one scary face

    ROG, ABCW

  32. Nice selection, Jesh!
    Thanks for linking your post on the Friday Greens meme.

  33. Happy Fall Seasons!…I love the varied posts you do…Although here fall leads to a sometimes challenging winter……Michelle

Love your comment! For you on Blogspot, I'll reply on your blog, since you otherwise won't see my reply. Sorry, can't reach you if you have a google+ . If you have your profile set on Google account, I will not be able to comment back, since I opted out of the Google Analytics.