STILL WINTER

 

Am jazzed that it started snowing last Thursday, right in time for the Maro-Tex theme of this week: cold:) This winter is the coldest of the four years we have been living here.


Thankful, I have adjusted to the cold after decades
of mild temps in the Southern part of the state. Appreciating
waking up to a snowy driveway and stillness around,
instead of thinking “this is another cold wintery day.”
(Makro-Tex: cold)

 

 

 

Big Bear Lake, high in the mountains in Southern California (9000 feet). Even when you don’t ski, like I.  In this town one winter staying in one of our friend’s cabins I got back to art  with a snowy painting after a 25 year hiatus. Why did I wait so long??
Tue Travel, ABC Wed.: High

 

 

 

Spending now more time inside in winter, instead of
always on the go. To make these Macademia, cranberry-white
chocolate chip cookies, instead of buying,
and making meals from scratch without knowing
what unhealthy things may be added.

 

 

 

In California the azalea starts blooming soon after the new year
(Floral Bliss, Floral Friday Foto, Pink Saturday)

 

 

 

 

 

Without the stimulus overload and sounds in the city
to distract, I now pay more attention to little details.
Such as that chain on the tree here . There must be a reason!
Thurs. Doors. Pink Saturday

 

 

 

A simple reflection of the light a little further, shining in the art wall hanging. James, the host of Weekend Reflections knows this is the Thai restaurant in Laguna NIguel on Alicia Creek Rd..
Weekend Reflection

 

 

 

Sky Watch

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

JOIN THE FUN of sharing your SEASON
with a photo in the link list
whether t s summer of winter in your neck of the woods!

Every Sunday through Wednesday till 7 pm, Pacific time

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks to the Hosts
Randomosity  *  Our World Thru My Lens *
Tue Treasures  * Tue Texture Nature Notes Travel Tue * Pictoral Tue * Floral Bliss Makro-Tex: cold *
*ABC Wednesday : H *Communal Global * Thurs. Travel Photo *
*Thurs. DoorsThankful Thurs. * Floral Fri Foto  *  Sky Watch *
Weekend Reflection * Fri Photo Journal *Fri Photo Friends * Pink Saturday *

42 Comments Add yours

  1. The snow scenes are beautiful.

  2. jesh stg says:

    Thank you Deborah! Am expecting it not to lay long, because it was very wet, and being flown off the trees by the wind, and they expect now warmer weather.
    But still am thankful for a day being able to take pics:)

  3. Jeanna says:

    Beautiful snowy scenes, better than ice and mud and water, haha. I didn’t know azaleas started blooming so soon.

  4. That photo of the Azalea is so well done! Beautiful.

  5. riitta k says:

    The azalea is gorgeous – I love you 1st snow photo too – Good start to March soon!

  6. Joanne Sisco says:

    It’s definitely been the coldest winter I remember for a number of years. It is so pretty – when it doesn’t overstay its welcome 🙂

    It’s a sad commentary when outdoor articles need to be chained in place to prevent theft … however it did cause me to look more closely at those shutters. Love the hardware on them!

  7. Such a lovely winter scenery, how fortunate it should snow right now!

  8. Lydia C. Lee says:

    Lovely…we’re in the endthrows of summer….the snow seems so distant!

  9. jesh stg says:

    Reached your blog, but then a dark film comes over it – too dark to read … I’ll try later in the week again. Thank you for you comment. Because I have lived in Los Angeles for so long, where there is no snow, I am excited and immediately start taking photos:)

  10. Angie says:

    We had a spectacular day skiing – it was snowing steadily the whole time – made it feel like skiing on butter! Speaking of butter … I am salivating for one of your cookies – I have always loved the macadamia nut/white chocolate combination. I am sure the chain on the tree is so that it doesn’t run away … LOL.

  11. Peabea says:

    We’ve had less snow, but oh so much rain. Guess thought that I’m glad it is rain because if it were snow, we would definitely be snowed in. I’m so ready for Spring even though our winter was mild. Love your photography that you’re sharing; especially the first one.

    Peabea@Peabea Scribbles

  12. Love the snowy scene, the azalea, and the cookie photos the most, as they make me want to hang out in the snow, feel the flower petal, and smell and eat the cookie. Yumm. The rain finally found us yesterday. I heard rumor of snow on our low mountains, too. 🙂

  13. Ruth says:

    The cold came kind of late this year! I am freezing right now! Hope the good temperatures come back soon. I love macadamia nut cookies. It is true. Homemade cookies (and food in general) taste way better!

  14. Beautiful meditation on loving where you are (blooming where you are planted?) ….. Winter looks so cozy and lovely …. and oh my goodness, those cookies!! (Agree with you that home cooking = knowing what you are eating and that is good!!!)

  15. This winter has been tough on humans and wildlife…right now it is 60 here and that is not good…Michelle

  16. I love that dog tied to the door. Even more so because it is disguised as a tree 🙂

  17. Norm 2.0 says:

    Nice door but to be honest, you had me at “cookies” 😉

  18. Jackie says:

    I like to make from scratch too. Love macadamia cranberry white chocolate cookies, will have to make some.

    Think chained tree is a piece of art?

  19. Always nice to find someone else who appreciates snow and winter, Jesh. 🙂 In winter, I much prefer the beauty of snow to the dreariness of rain! Those cookies look and sound pretty good.

    janet

  20. Beatrice Euphemie says:

    Lovely photos of the snow and winter scenes. Visiting from ‘Floral Bliss’ link party. x Karen

  21. jesh stg says:

    The good thing with snow is you can walk outside, take pics without ruining he camera – hard to do with rain!
    It never ceases to amaze me why I wonder gaining weight in winter eating all those cookies! In summer I hold it to fruit, lol!

  22. Kelleyn says:

    It is funny, I grew up in a extremely cold climate, but 1 years in the south has made me soft. Today it was 14 degrees in my part of Germany. too freaking cold for me.

  23. jesh stg says:

    Thanks Norm. I do my best to keep myself entertained with healthy stuff like cookies (cough) when in-between big paintings, haha.:)

  24. jesh stg says:

    This is crazy Michelle – here it has been below 30 at night for past 2 weeks, and 50 if we are lucky during the day! Oh, by the way, thank you also for your other comment – Paris would be the perfect city to elope. Your niece is smart:):)

  25. jesh stg says:

    The thing I’m thankful about with the cold is that it’s not the first winter -my body has made the adjustment to freezing and melting temps! Another good thing is that we are just below the snowline, so we have more snow than rain, when temps dip. And yay, I can finally wear my sweaters more than one evening during “winter.” in the South.

  26. jesh stg says:

    Don’t know what to say (probably because I was in the store – a simple quilted handmade purse for $200+, etc.), except for that your sense of humor about the chain is different from most people I know:):)

  27. Nice pictures! We won’t have azaleas for a while, but forsythia is blooming.

  28. So strange to hear that winter is the coldest one for you in the last four years, and it has been the warmest for us in the last four years. In the same state! I better not show my husband the cookies without making a batch for him first. Such softness in the azalea photo and such a perfect reflection. Another beautiful collection.

    -Soma

  29. Jim says:

    Brilliant sky.

  30. I imagine that if that tree was not chained, it would be stolen before you could say ‘pickup truck’!
    Those cookies look so good!

  31. James says:

    Yep, winter is still here. It’s snowing right now but it was 80 degrees a week or two ago. 🙂

    Is it “Beyond Thai” which used to be called Urban Thai? That’s a cool reflection!

  32. Cathy says:

    We enjoyed living in California the 4 years we were there. Two of our five kids were born there. The best part was the opportunity to spend weekends on the American River. Ron loved gold panning and so di the kids! Thanks for the memories! Have a grand weekend!

  33. Wonderful to see photos of snow in California, it suits your garden well, I think.
    Overhere in the Netherlands we suddenly had the coldest period since 2012, and I like it!

  34. Carol says:

    Your landscapes are lovely and I want some cookies please!

  35. jesh stg says:

    Let me try to comment from my blog and check if you receive it!
    In the southern part of California (Los Angeles), there is only snow at 9ooo feet. Here close to Sacramento, we live under the snow line, but still we get some snow here in winter. at 3000 feet. For Holland that was a long time ago that it was so cold then! Thanks for getting back to me and have a good old snowy weekend:)

  36. Peter B says:

    Love your header photo. Makes me want to reach in and grab a cookie!!

  37. jesh stg says:

    Thank you Carol, and I’ll leave you some cookies:):)

  38. nannie2four says:

    Oh, my, those cookies look soooo good… yummy. I love the little purple pendant light. Purple is my favorite color! 💜 Happy weekend to you! Thanks for sharing all your lovely fotos!

  39. Thanks, Jesh. I’m affraid I have a complete wrong idea of the climate in some countries. In my mind California is always warm and sunny. Of course I know it is not so, but most of the time I simply seem to forget how big some states and countries are and how high the mountains. And therefor what the effects can be on the local climate. I will try to have a closer look from now on.
    Have wonderful (cold and snowy) weekend.

  40. eva says:

    lovely snow scenes and the azalea! wonderful! we’ve got flowering quinces in the snow.

  41. Lovely door with the chained tree but I love all the other photos, especially the lamp and the cookies. Yum!

Love your comment! For you on Blogspot, I'll reply on your blog, since you otherwise won't see my reply. Sorry, can't reach you if you have a google+ . If you have your profile set on Google account, I will not be able to comment back, since I opted out of the Google Analytics.