A DOOR IN ATHENS and JACKSON

 

 

 

 

Do you have a preference in building styles?
More important than the style is for me how the accessories “frame”  the building. With this church I like the arched windows and door and the round walls and bowl-like roof . At the same time, I like the pointed front, framing the door and windows.

 


This church stands in Athens, and is  from my non-digital era. From the people there we met, most considered themselves very religious. Scroll down for the door in Jackson!
Tue  Texture, Tue Treasure, Tue Travel,  ABC Wed.-Door, Travel Photo Thurs., Thurs. Door

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is one of the roses in the Rose Garden in Huntington Library Gardens in Pasadena, CA
(Floral Bliss, Floral Fri Foto, Nature Notes)

 

 

 

 

Finally the things I am painting has crept into my subconscious after two months –  “seeing” it while waking up in the morning.
So if I have been lagging to reply to your comments or seemed distracted -I have been -majorly! and I apologize. Even if I haven’t answered, I have enjoyed them as much as before, as well as reading your blogs:)

 

An UPDATE  on my mammoth painting (10 high  x 17 wide feet). Started  in May/June, painting in the afternoon. HOW PAINTING LARGE IS DIFFERENT. I chose this view on purpose, because I keep changing  things!

The mobile platform hubby built with railings for safety for me as well as for kids, proved to be of much  benefit. So no one drops ( Fri Hunt) to the floor unaware!
You can’t see it here, but on the right side is a tray, where I can put brushes, paper towel, mineral spirits, because walking the stairs every 5 min. slows me down
Have learned to walk downward backwards on these stairs:):)

The initial adjustment:
– being aware at all times where (on which step/ level) I stand
– getting used to painting larger size of any object, including people
– painting longer (time wise) does not necessarily mean progress. Take a break! A new look brings new inspiration:)

Big adjustment:
– larger size also means bigger contrast of values (intensity of color)
– but … without losing structure and depth of my personal style (large objects seem to become quickly flat and commercial looking, instead of painterly)!
– not cleaning my( at least) 11 brushes daily, slows me down the next day!

A big plus in knowing how to postpone feelings – you can easily become discouraged with such a big project, and I’m not planning to give up,  so this the time for “doing” – “feeling” will come later!

I’m in my element being able to do this, does make me happy! (Fri Hunt)

 

 

 

 


A  simple orange door for Thurs. Doors.
Reflections of the booths across the street in Jackson, California , being part of the Dandelion festival in the spring. You see something growing in the drain or run-off?

 

 

 

 

 

Don’t mind when there is a haze, as long as the hills are green. Since I see a few telephone poles, the trees in this landscape are not as little as they seem here, either:)
Sunday Trees, Makro-Tex: Nature, Weekend Green)

 

 

 

 

 

Fri Hunt
Begins with E 3rd image
Drop (s)
Happy: 3rd image

With a broad pastel stripe He painted the HORIZON
(One Word Sun – horizon, Sky Watch)

 

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MUCH FUN to see what everyone is experiencing in the  SEASON

Every Sunday through Wednesday evening 7 pm, Pacific Time

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Thanks to All the Hosts!

One Word Sunday: horizon  *Sunday Trees *
Randomosity * Through the LensOur World  *
Tue Texture, Tue Treasure * Nature Notes * Tue Travel * ABC Wed.-D *
Communal Global Outdoor Wed. * Floral Bliss * Makro-Tex: Nature *
Thurs. Doors Thankful Thurs * Travel PhotoThur.  * Floral Fri Foto * Sky Watch  *
Weekend Reflection  Fri Photo Journal * Weekend Green * Fri Hunt *

47 Comments Add yours

  1. becca givens says:

    Wow — what an undertaking to paint so large — I am more comfortable on a much smaller scale.
    Lovely photos of color and lush green!

    Like

    1. jesh stg says:

      This only my second large project. So I am not “comfortable” at all either, but I wanted to do to stretch myself, and whenever I am done, you probably agree the subject was worth the effort!

      Like

  2. fun60 says:

    That painting is huge. You have certainly given yourself a challenge there.

    Like

  3. Tamar says:

    That building is gorgeous!

    Like

  4. Pieni Lintu says:

    Beautiful shots!

    Like

  5. Prunella Pepperpot says:

    Your painting is stunning!! Have a wonderful week.

    Like

  6. Ruth says:

    So impressed by that painting! Keep going. You will finish! You husband is a genius for building that platform. #OurWorldTuesday

    Like

    1. jesh stg says:

      Thanks for the encouraging words:)

      Like

  7. riitta k says:

    You have really interesting painting job going there! Keep your spirits up. It’s great looking already.

    Like

  8. marliska says:

    Beautiful photos.

    Like

  9. Wow what a task you’ve put on your shoulders with that large painting!!! Wishing you all the luck you need to get it finished!

    Nice foto’s too!

    Have a wonderful ABC-wednesday / -week
    ♫ M e l ☺ d y ♫ abc-w-team
    http://melodymusic.nl/21-d/

    Like

    1. jesh stg says:

      Thank you Melody:) I have good Dutch examples, like Rembrandt, van Gogh, Mondriaan, etc.. Even though I didn’t know them personally, they have taught me to never be afraid to follow my dream:)

      Like

  10. …there’s a lot to enjoy about that gorgeous church. Today buildings lack details! Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  11. Molly says:

    Wow that is an amazing painting

    Mollyx

    Like

    1. jesh stg says:

      Thank you Molly!

      Like

  12. Roger Green says:

    I love the church!

    ROG, ABCW

    Like

  13. ladyfi says:

    Lovely shots. I like that Athens door.

    Like

  14. Betty says:

    A pretty church.

    Like

  15. Eileen says:

    Hello, love the beautiful landscapes and the view of the ocean. Pretty rose. Your painting is beautiful. Happy Thursday, enjoy your day and the weekend ahead!

    Like

  16. You have a big painting job! Stay focused! Thanks for linking up today!

    Like

  17. Norm 2.0 says:

    Two nice doors in this collection – bonus!
    That painting project is monumental – good luck with it. It’s funny, the first thing I thought when I saw the photo of that platform: “gee I hope sure watches where she steps”. I can imagine it can be very easy to forget once you get absorbed in the work.

    Like

    1. jesh stg says:

      Exactly, when I’m in the zone, I think I can fly:) So I kept talking to myself in the first week not to forget I needed to take one step at a time:)

      Like

  18. bettyl - NZ says:

    I love ‘old’ architecture especially when the buildings are cared for. All your photos are great to see.

    Like

  19. Oh my goodness, that painting is quite an undertaking that you are doing. I’m surprised you find time to post on SkyWatch Friday but so glad that you do. Keep on painting! Can’t wait to see the painting when it is done.

    Like

  20. Jackie says:

    Love your take on “drops”!

    Like

  21. Peter B says:

    Wow, I love your “painting large” project! Can’t wait to see the finished painting. Wonderful sky shot over the ocean. Have a great weekend!

    Like

  22. Mascha says:

    The church is beautiful and I like all round or half-round elements in architecture, all, was can break up the straight lines…
    Good luck for your great painting. As I’ve still painted, I’ve always dreamed of a big format (smaller than 50cm -1m I never haven’t begun and that seemed always small for me – ), but never had a whole wall. Have painted always on the floor… Well, that’s history since a long time!
    Thanks for joining, have a nice weekend

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Frank Hubeny says:

    I liked the Print Frames Graphics storefront with the plant below framed by the drain.

    Like

  24. Debbie Smyth says:

    You’re a busy lady, Jesh. Some wonderful images here and I love the colours in your horizon shot.
    Sorry to be so late visiting but it’s been a crazy week – family here last weekend and way too much work this week! I’ll try to get to get over to you tomorrow, but I’m off to London for a dawn walk (with camera!)

    Like

    1. jesh stg says:

      Don’t worry. Just get to me when convenient:) Hey I thought you lived in London!

      Like

  25. Tom Merriman says:

    Love your photos, Jesh. But your painting – oh, my! I wouldn’t know where to begin with something so large! It looks very impressive, I have to say.

    Like

    1. jesh stg says:

      Thank you Tom! It took me 25 + years before I had the guts to do it. My development in painting has been very slow, with a big hiatus in between, but eventually all the practice has its rewards:)

      Like

  26. scotiaspinner says:

    Wow, that painting is enormous, and it was interesting to read about your scaffold and your process. I just love the picture of the green hills – I would like to go for a walk there.

    Like

  27. Your painting is amazing. It’s almost larger than our house, lol. I love the colours, Jesh, and the content. No matter how long I look at it, something new pops into view. Well done on what you’ve painted so far.

    Like

    1. jesh stg says:

      Thank you Jean! One of the underlying themes of this bride is a representation of “of every tribe and tongue.” How you described it is exactly how it came up in my mind!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Now you say that, it looks like a scene from the book of Revelation in the Bible.

        Like

  28. James says:

    I love the pics and your painting amazing! Thanks for the website. A life without back pain sounds wonderful. 🙂

    Like

  29. Joanne Sisco says:

    Ok – that painting is a wow! I can’t imagine trying to maintain perspective of your vision on such a large canvas!

    Like

    1. jesh stg says:

      Thank you Joanne1 Perspective was exactly one of the things I had to adjust to:) Am glad only part is a mountainous view.

      Liked by 1 person

  30. pattisj says:

    What a uniquely beautiful church, so many details to savor. Looks like your hubby did a fantastic job building the platform, and I can’t even imagine painting that LARGE. Fun to see you in action.

    Like

  31. Teresa says:

    The church is beautiful. I love the green hills. Your mural is amazing! I am quite impressed. How nice your husband could build the stairs to help you out. Thanks so much for joining Friday’s Hunt. Have a great rest of the week!

    Like

  32. i knew you were creating a huge painting, but never realized just how huge until this picture with you on your scaffold/ladder! Wow, i am in utter awe. Beautiful church and door and the fading but still beautiful rose.

    I assume you are not in the danger zone for the terrible fires we are just now reading about.

    Like

Love your comment! For you on Blogspot, I'll reply on your blog, since you otherwise won't see my reply.

