A FAIRY TALE can happen at any time

 

For Mackro Tex this week a Fairy Tale was asked …

This gave me the idea  for this post. It is a retrospect, not a brag book, In all what happened I am very much aware I owe everything to my heavenly father. This post isn’t finished yet, but I’ll add to it during the week.

 

 

(1) As a child my first two books were a book with fairy tales, and a children’s Bible. My two favorites for long, because they had an illustration with every story.
In retrospect, these two also had the most influence, since the fairy tales stirred my imagination, and the bible showed that with God all things are possible.
In retrospect these were the pillars for what I believed my life and my creativity could be, but if someone would have told me the details of the future, I would have thought that for all these things to happen, it would be a fairy tale.
(Tue Treasure, ABC Wed. – T, Makro-Tex)

 

 

 

(2) A budding bearded Iris

In being able to travel to different cultures, and do things  most of my friends would not even think of. To go to college in another country, and study in another language. My wish to become a doctor, to have a house of my own. These two books opened the door to believe my wishes really could become true.
(Tue Texture, Nature Notes, Floral Bliss, Floral Fri Foto, Bloom. Fri)

 

 

 

 

(3) Door to the Secret Garden

 

We had friends who didn’t  question our wild dreams and helped us making our dreams come true, and gladly gave Christmas packages with clothes and toys for us and our children (image 8) .
The middle bottom is the door of a dream our friends had – image (5) below.

 

 

 

 

 

 

(4) For you who don’t live in the States, it is the colors of the shawl around the neck, my advisor behind me is adjusting, that specifies the degree. To add the confusion, each university has their own colors:)

Long ago …wanted to do my doc degree “in absentia”, but my family bribed me with a grad. party if I would go through the ceremony. Why I hate graduations is the pomp like it’s a presidential inauguration. Also, because I’m expected to smile when people like Mackie suddenly become Dr. McQ., and Ioma, is Dr. H., and Dick, smiling on the left, is Dr. M. Actually this is not the worst part, but all the speeches that do not mean a thing to me … you get the drift.

Even in a fairy tale, in the non-digital era (pic above) we worked for everything we reached.
(Tue Treasure)

 

 

 

 

 (5) Sometimes a dream takes a turn

The four of us are reflected in the building of our friends dream. Once they were our students, but we have through the years kept in contact. They thought this big center for all the different ministries was their dream. Extremely disappointed when their dream was seemingly thwarted. Yet, destiny brought them even on a higher plane, when the opportunity came to become the head of a denomination, which happened this year. That was another part of their lives’ dream. They never could have overseen both at the same time.
(Thurs. Doors, Weekend Reflection)

 

 

 

This part of my dreams went off the cliff!
My dream was to comfortably paint on a canvas 24 x 30 inches, but became last year a  9 x 7 feet (the left canvas). Still hardly have a grid how to fill a 10 x 17 feet one. It’s so high  hubby had to build a platform. He could not see me painting on a ladder at 10 feet high, and I couldn’t either, because I passed 26:), The railing is for safety of all the kids visiting:)

Maybe your life has been the opposite. Thinking you have nothing, or gained little to be proud of. Again, it is not my intention to make the reader jealous or depressed, or show I’m a favorite.

What I do hope is that this retrospect shows that anything good can happen in your life, no matter if you are over 50, 60 …
It began all with two favorite books. The Fairy Tales and the Children’s Bible.

 

 

Wordless Wed, Sky Watch

 

* Randomosity * Mundane Monday * Our World *
Tue Texture * Tue Treasure* Nature Notes * Travel Tue  *
*ABC Wed. – T  * Makro Tex * Outdoor Wed. * Floral BlissCommunal Global * Wordless Wed. *
Thurs. Door * Travel Photo Thurs. *Thankful Thurs.  * Floral Fri Foto * Sky Watch *
Weekend Reflection Fri Photo Journal * Blooming Friday *

25 thoughts on “A FAIRY TALE can happen at any time

  1. It was nice for your family to give you a party back when you got your Degree! You deserved it. I agree though that those ceremonies can be deadly. We are not fans of pomp and circumstance in our family! I forgot to thank you for hosting Seasons on the previous comment. I hope your painting is coming along well.

    Like

  2. Wow, I love the platform your husband made so you could do your art, that’s just awesome. As is, the way you express gratitude for all the wonders in your life.
    Have a beautiful week yet, have you started on your mammoth painting yet?
    Wren x

    Like

  3. fairytales are treasuers, aren’t they?!
    By the way: your link does not work at abc, maybe you should place it again?

    Have a nice ABC-day / week
    Melody (team ABC-W)
    Preview Round 21 starting july 12th :

    Like

  4. I did enjoy this…I am trying to think of this saying that I always heard but cannot remember it all…something along the lines of go ahead and dream…then build a foundation under them?

    Like

  5. Beautiful post! I have the privilege of reading fairy tale and children’s books to my granddaughter. Many I have forgotten since my own children, and now I get to enjoy all over again!!

    Like

  6. I like your secret garden door and your mural on canvass and the painter’s platform. Just curious, when you paint huge paintings do you have to create a grid to get your images to scale? There is a well known muralist, Whalen, that paints wall murals of whales and other sealife on tall buildings and his story is he gets up on the scaffold or cherry picker to look at the wall on the building and then he claims he has an out of body experience and can see everything before he begins to paint and everything remains in scale.

    Like

    • This is a heavy subject Gordon! May sound opiniated, even arrogant (but I hope you know Europians tend to be blunt) – I think making a grid is cheating, because real art should not make use of “tools” but be able to gauge with one’s eyes, straight lines, directional design, or size. And then, size depends in which style the artist wants to paint – realistic, abstract, etc.
      About painting on large scale – am just a beginner – the painting where I’m painting on now is only my second large one. I don’t know if it’s an out of body experience, but I usually “see” at least part my paintings in my mind. Have never been concerned about whether I’m painting the right size or not. Hope this explains it a little. Usually though artists “see” or think about “ideas” that non-artist do not have. It’s not only right brain activity, but also left brain …let me stop here before this becomes a chapter:):)

      Liked by 1 person

      • I understand what you’re saying. Didn’t know how painters work and I can see that using grids curtails the real art and expression. I don’t paint (wish I could) but my photography is my art and like you, I see and compose things in my mind before exposing the image and I like to look for images that are staring at us but are un-noticed by most people; if I can catch that image then I was successful in communicating it to others.

        Like

      • My son who lives in Holland has some photography-art friends. It seems in Europe analogue is a big thing there. do you also do non-digital photography?

        Like

Love your comment! For you on Blogspot, I'll reply on your blog, since you otherwise won't see my reply.

