RAINY SEASON in BEIJING

Grew up in a rainy country, Holland, not much different than the UK. Only to find out rainy seasons  differ across the globe.
We were in  China one August, traveled to 4 major cities (by plane) with our son, who was teaching in Nanchang (12 hours W. of Shang Hai), Guang Zhou, Zhen-Zhen, and Beijing.

BeijingRedDoor 113

Red Door on a major Boulevard, on our walk to the Forbidden City (the previous Royal Palaces )
(Thurs. Door, Jo’s Walk)

 

YellowHibiscus_1654

 

 

Hibiscus, also called “Chinese Rose”

 

 

 

RustyFenceBeijing 137

Our walk  to the Forbidden City. They said it was a 20 min. walk.
Well, it was 40 min.! If we had known that  we could
have gone by taxi – pretty cheap there, if you have bartering
skills. (Good Fences, Blue Monday, Tue Texture,Good Fences)

 

dragon-statue-118

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There is so much Variety in the Chinese culture, am only touching here on a few aspects, and mainly in city life.
Dragons is a much used theme in art (Beijing)
(Tue Texture, ABC Wed.- V, Fri Greens)

 

 

Rain onTienanmanSquare 328

August is the rainy season in Beijing. Tienanmen Square – where 20+ years ago the students were massacred. Knowing that, that was “the only” place I wanted to see. Yet we were too tired by the end of the week. A pleasant surprize that after souvenir shopping we “happened” to walk across it, to get out of the rain and get some warm food (hot pot). Walking over the square afterward became a memorial walk  for me!
(Weekend Reflect., Tue Travel, Water World)

 

 

 

ZhenZhenSky 065

Zhen-Zhen is one of the most modern cities in China.
99% humidity in August! It didn’t take us long to buy a parasol, which made it at least 10 degr. cooler. Since all the men walked there with one too, I convinced hubby to do the same:)
From Shen-Zhen it’s only half an hour walk to Hong Kong,
which mainlanders consider “The West” – no matter what you hear in the media!
(Sky Watch, Pink Saturday)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~`

Fri Hunt, Pink Saturday and  Sat. Critters is for this week in the post “December Weekend

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Don’t forget to to join the fun of  ALL SEASONS in an a Seasons post,

decemberallseasonswidget_4269-copy-copy

link your photo between Sunday and Wednesday

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks to all the  hosts
*Blue Monday * Jo’s Walk  * Life Thru Lens * Our World *
*Tue. Texture * Tue. Travel * Tue Treasure  * Nature Notes *
*ABC Wed. – V * Water World * Outdoor Wed. * Communal Global *
Thurs. Doors  *  Good Fences * Floral Fri Foto * Sky Watch  *
Weekend Reflect  * Pierced Wonderings  *  Fri Photo Journal  *
Fri Greens  * Wandering Camera *

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

37 Comments Add yours

  1. restlessjo says:

    Chinese rose! I like that 🙂 And I always love oriental dragons. Thanks for sharing, Jesh. Wishing you a wonderful festive season.

    Like

    1. jesh stg says:

      You too Jo. Here in the USA or Poland?
      Our son will come from Holland visiting us this month (He was the actual reason we were in China before his Holland -period)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Fun60 says:

    Favourite photo was the rainy Tienanmen Square. I saw your first photo before reading the post and I immediately thought of the Forbidden City. Interested me to think that the one image you chose to post is all we need to be reminded of Beijing.

    Like

  3. Hello Jesh, Your post sure hit home in an odd way. We just finished a terrible drought and wild fires for weeks. It has been very close to where we live and the smoke was unbearable. Then the rain came. Heavenly rain. Your post about the rainy season was ironic. Smile. Your post about China was very interesting and your photos are great. Tienanman Square brings back the memory of the terrible loss of life of students. Time heals and 20 years is a long time. Love the Chinese rose.

    Have fun decorating for Christmas. We are not done but getting there.
    I am checking out if I have something to post on All Seasons.
    Have a great week.
    xo,
    Jeanne

    Like

  4. Looks like it was an awesome trip. It’s on my Bucket List. 🙂

    Like

    1. jesh stg says:

      We only went because our son was in China and could could interpret things for us. It’s quite challenging when you cannot read the letters on the stores. They luckily had menus translated in English in the bigger restaurants – and food and hotels are ultra cheap!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Sallie says:

    I love this trip …. feel like a world traveler after reading it …. as I sit in the little airport in Eugene Oregon waiting to board a delayed flight to not nearly as exotic a location.

    Like

  6. Lisa Isaacs says:

    What an interesting post. I also grew up with constant rain and now have hot weather most of the year round. Hubbie prefers the rain… I love the heat. Love the photo of the Hibiscus.

    Like

  7. China, a country that I will no doubt never see, thanks for the mini tour.

    Like

  8. KL says:

    Beautiful composition of pictures, especially the last one (zheng-zheng?) — very skilled photography shown in this last one.

    Like

  9. Villrose says:

    Rain can be very different…
    I am not able to find a link to Seasons?!?

    Like

  10. Melody62 says:

    must have been a marvelous trip.

    And yes, after a few days very very cold (the coldest province here in 83 years) days…..we now have…. can you guess ….. rainnnnnnnnnn ;-(

    Have a nice ABC-day / – Week
    ♫ M e l ☺ d y ♫ (abc-team)
    http://melodymusic.nl/a-b-c-wednesday-19-v/

    Like

  11. Roger Green says:

    I love red doors!
    I hate bartering!
    ROG, ABCW

    Liked by 1 person

  12. lesliebc says:

    Just noticed Roger’s comment about bartering – I echo that sentiment! And that humidity!!! I would pass out. Otherwise, does look like lots of variety there. Thanks for sharing.

    Leslie
    abcw team

    Like

  13. readerwil says:

    China is a very interesting country! No doubt about that.

    Like

  14. narami says:

    Well, talk about a trip jesh! That is amazing. I loved the statue and the street photo, and of course the fence! Thanks for sharing with me!

    Like

  15. Kelleyn says:

    We were in China two years ago! I love the photo of the blue rusty tin wall. We will go back when out daughters get older.

    Like

  16. That’s a great door and I enjoyed the rest of the post, too. I know my husband wouldn’t get a parasol no matter the humidity! Just wouldn’t happen…but if it did, I’d have to get a photo and send it to all the family. 🙂

    janet

    Like

  17. Norm 2.0 says:

    Thanks for the tour – love that door!

    Like

  18. ewok1993 says:

    Must have been an awesome trip.

    Worth a Thousand Words

    Like

  19. jazzytower says:

    Sounds like quite a trip, lots of history there. Good photos.

    Like

  20. I love that photograph with all those umbrellas – it would make a fabulous painting.

    Like

  21. Su-sieee! says:

    what is it about rusty tin walls that are just so handsome to me? 🙂 Looks like we’re going to have a few days of rain. Hurrah!

    Like

  22. Yogi says:

    China is on my bucket list.

    Like

  23. Peter B says:

    I like the last photo. Wow, 99% humidity… I can’t even imagine!

    Like

  24. prior.. says:

    I did not know it was called a Chinese rose – love that!
    Also of course the door is nice – rich Asian red.
    And cool how you had your memorial walk after not forcing it into the trip.
    Sounds like a nice God appointment, jesh.
    🌸🌸🌸

    Like

  25. Mitzi says:

    Wow…these are great! I simply can’t pick a favorite! Well done!

    Like

  26. seems to be a rainy experience 🙂 China is a country I never really wanted to visit. Strange.

    Like

  27. Guess you missed Mao’s tomb in Tienanmen Square; I missed it too on my first visit in 2005 (didn’t even know it was there). While waiting for my wife and her cousin in the empty square early in the morning it only took a few minutes before hundreds of people were around me. One of these days I’ll have to post a picture of one of the “Gates” to the Forbidden City; it has a specific construction and meaning. Nice post!

    Like

  28. jesh stg says:

    Thank you, Gordon. Tienanmen Square is quite an experience. Could have spent a week in Beijing itself. Hubby and son went to the Wall, while I went painting in the street. Later I heard “that was not done” – oops. But they were very respectful, watching me from a distance.

    Like

  29. Lovely photo! I am so glad you got to experience it all.

    Thank you so much for linking up on Wandering Camera!
    -Soma

    Like

  30. jammy7000 says:

    Lovely shots, Jesh. China is a fascinating place…
    Thanks for linking up with the Travel Tuesday meme, hope to see you join me there again this week.

    Like

  31. klara says:

    great selection, I had to smile at the last photo’s caption – parasol, hubby… seeing myself convincing my hubby to carry it.

    Like

  32. That hibiscus is a lovely colour!
    Thank you for linking up with the Floral Friday Fotos meme.

    Like

  33. yogiabb says:

    China is on my bucket list. I love all your photos. I love especially the first with the red door and the one with all the umbrellas.

    Like

  34. Yogi says:

    China is on my bucket list. So much to see there and such a huge country and playing an ever bigger part in world affairs.

    Like

Love your comment! For you on Blogspot, I'll reply on your blog, since you otherwise won't see my reply.

