SIGNIFICANT PLACES

 

One of our favorite places in Sacramento is Old Town, because it has also the harbor, a steam train station, lots of eateries, and many events held close by

oldtowndeltakingreflectblue_0289

Old and new blending together. The old Delta King and the modern high rise in the background of Sacramento. The first now used as a hotel and restaurant.
(Good Fences, Week.Reflect., Blue Mon., Tue. Treasures, ABC Wed.-Old)

 

 

turtlebypillars115

Saw some turtles by the pillars close to the water- enjoying the sun
(Sat. Critters, Tue Textures)

 

 

 

purplemorningglorysac_7454

Purple is one of my favorite colors to wear. I don’t pay attention to those  lists that say “what a color means,” because every person attaches a different meaning to a color. Purple is a mix of blue and red (two primary colors!).

For me darker purple means a deeply mysterious and strong color. Light purple or lavender is delightful, but not extremely feminine like pink.
Some lists describe purple as envious/jealous … where do they get that from??
(Floral Friday Foto, Todays Flower, Fri Greens, Our Beautiful World)

 

 

 

stgermain-side-door-chapel

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Non-digital (Photoshop helps!) of one of the side doors of the castle in the suburb of St Germain  – the last stop on the tram – an hour from the center of Paris. We sat for 4 hours at city hall to get to know more about my background, but they couldn’t find anything. They were very nice though, since “American” was written on our faces:)

Later we discovered that there are several castles called St. Germain!  Since Ancestry.com is more focused on the USA and does not even have the full last name in their files, we’re at a stale mate.
(Thurs Doors, Tue Travel )

 

Fri Hunt
Begins with P: pumpkin
Weeks Favorite: doors of castle
Whole: a whole box of pumpkins:) Oh yum.

 

 

pumpkins-037

Pumpkin time (Tue Texture)
If we would ever move countries again, I would miss the pumpkin time the most. Aside from delicious pumpkin pie, pumpkin bread or cake
the seeds are of tremendous health benefit against inflammation!

A condition physicians discover now, is just as much a health threat as heart problems. My brother, MD, says that by the age of 60, most people have some form or arthritis. So, roast the seeds when you use the pumpkin!

 

 

fallsky-517

The skies are more dramatic in Fall
(Sky Watch, Sat. Silhouette, Blue Monday)

Meanwhile join the fun with ALL SEASONS on Sunday through Wednesday

allseasonswidgetsunset_4269-copy-copy

 

Thanks to All the Hosts!

Good Fences  Thurs. Doors * Floral Fri Foto  * Sky Watch *
Weekend Reflections  * Todays flowers  * Fri Photo Journal  * Fri Hunt  *
Maleviks Rosen * Saturday Critters  * Our Beautiful World-purple  *
Blue Monday * Life Through Lens  * Our World  *
Tue Treasures  * Tue Texture  * Nature Notes  * Tue Travel *
ABC Wed – O  *Outdoor Wednesday * Water World  * Communal Global  *

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

50 thoughts on “SIGNIFICANT PLACES

    • Thank you Deborah – not much chance right now – if I would know more about the history of France, and knew the language, I probably could find out more about my ancestry. But I’m not desperate to spend heaps of money to get ahead in this aspect:)

      Liked by 1 person

      • But the language is so beautiful! Mastering it…for me not so easy and I’ve been studying it since 1998! They only thing I can do well in French is read! I do need a French to English dictionary nearby though.

        Like

  1. I would love to stay on that Delta King floating hotel. It looks so quaint. I’m sorry you reached a stalemate in your research. I’m the same with my husband’s side of the family – it’s Prussian. I can only get a couple of generations back and then nothing. Maybe I’ll try again, it’s been a couple of years since I last researched that side of the family. Those pumpkins look fab. We eat pumpkin seed but I didn’t know it was that good for you. I’ll eat more now. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your husband’s background sounds interesting! Can’t remember if that included a part of what is now Germany, or goes over into Poland…but the last name is definitely German. Do they pronounce it German where you live, or do they “bend” it into a more English version?
      Have to admit, it’s one of my pet peeves, because only the French and Dutch pronounce my first name as it was intended (maybe I need some therapy about that:) )

      Liked by 1 person

      • Most people are not sure how to pronounce the name when they read it and they never spell it correctly. Reinhardt is usually a first name in Germany and if it’s a surname then the family probably traces back to Prussia, which is now northern Germany. My husband’s great great grandfather, Christoph Reinhardt, was born in Widdern in 1822 and his son Wilhelm was also born in Widdern in 1850. At the time of the Franco-Prussian was, Wilhelm went to England to stay with relatives and learned his trade as a pork butcher. From there he made his way to Dublin and in 1882 married an Irish woman. The family have kept the original spelling and pronunciation of the name, which is good. If it had been a generation earlier that he came that might not have been the case. We know some families in Wicklow who pronounce their surname the same way as we do but spell it Rynhart. They aren’t related but their ancestors come from Germany.

        Like

      • I think it would make a good story, too. I’m hoping to use my father’s family history for a book set in the time of the cotton mills in Lancashire and after that I might try and write one based on the Reinhardt side of the family. I think I’ve enough content between the four different branches of our families to keep me going for a few more years. 🙂

        Like

  2. Hey jesh – that door is stately! And how fun to dig into ancestry info – sorry you are at a stopped point, but with all of those castles – royalty must be in the lineage.
    And that reminds me – rich and deepen purple usually reminds of royalty (and how the old royalty folks usually could only afford the colors) – but as you noted – color meaning is layered – especially with the different shades of colors and intensity – like some cool colors can take on warmth when presented in certain intensities.

    Oh and i know why purple and envy were paired.
    Hundreds of years ago- a writer noted his some people who were filled with rage had blood pressure get so high – it was expressed in their face with a rich purple hue – the anger mixed with pain showed in the purple face…..
    Ha! Just kidding – I only made that up – but it could be plausible!
    Lol
    Have a good day

    Like

  3. Sorry my screen of the iPad went hay wire- continuing – including some of the nobility.
    wow, I knew you had big imagination … on the other hand, purple rage sounds plausible, haha:)

    Like

  4. Thanks for the pumpkin seeds tip, Jeanette! It’s official. I now know I have arthritis in the knees. Bleah! I don’t care too much for pumpkin seeds, but I shall learn to like them. I’ll be back tomorrow for All Seasons.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Morning glories come in a vast range of shades of purple/violet/blue and the ones you have captured are delightful, Jesh.
    Thank you for joining Floral Friday Fotos, I look forward to your next contribution.

    Like

  6. When I lived in California I loved I used to go to Sacramento on business quite often. Each time I would go to Old Sacramento for dinner or just to walk around. It’s amazing how far large ships can come up the Sacramento River from the ocean. – Margy

    Like

  7. Beautiful series of images. The paddle wheel on the boat is great! The pumpkins are my favorites. It is my favorite time of year. Sorry I’m so late to get around visiting this week. I do appreciate your participation!

    Like

  8. Sorry to be so late commenting, but it’s been a hectic week! AnyhOO…anytime I visit a new place, it’s the historic areas I love to see so thanks for sharing this about Sacramento. Haven’t been there since I was a kid on the way down to Disneyland with my parents. (quite a “few” years!)

    Leslie
    abcw team

    Like

  9. Lovely post, Jesh! The “Old Town” quarters are the places we visit first and foremost in all of our travels. It’s there that one sees the true colour and history and real atmosphere of a city.
    Thanks for joining the Travel Tuesday meme, hope to see more of your photos there this week.

    Like

Love your comment! For you on Blogspot, I'll reply on your blog, since you otherwise won't see my reply.

