SUBTROPICAL

 

Palm trees, subtropical flowers, high rise buildings, freeway signs, big mall areas are so much the pleasant part of the Los Angeles basin where I lived for three decades. The less pleasant part are the traffic jams, waiting for more than an hour at any restaurant in the weekends.

Palm Trees_7131

A few weeks ago I heard from a Canadian musician (Joshua Mills), that when he was a little boy one of his biggest wishes was to see palm trees and subtropical flowers. This was the inspiration for this post.
(Fri Greens, leaf Textures)

 

Fri Hunt
Begin with K: Keepsake pic of Peach splash in the fountain
Weeks Favorite: Jacaranda
Yellow or Gold: below

 

Door Store_0298

Thursday door frame (below for the whole building)

 

Jacaranda_7134

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jacaranda

Did not realize how many subtropical flowers are a such a common sight in Southern California: Agapanthus, Jacaranda, Bougainvillea. Bromeliads

 

koihuntington_0553

Don’t know if Koi are considered subtropical, but these live in the waters of the Huntington Library in Pasedena

 

 

Los AngelsMoveIt Sign_2719Move It Sign – seen from the freeway close to down town Los Angeles. Left the emergency lights on the bottom, such a part of the city traffic.
(Good Fences)

 

delftbluedish

When some people treated me like a (rich) cosmopolitan when I lived in the suburbs of LA, I dreaded nothing more,  so I started responding,  “I live in California.”  “Where?” “In the city …by the way ….I like your …”
Am not a cosmopolitan. I like old, but not broken. Hubs just fixed this for me. (Tue Treasures)

 

 

SplashinFountain_0298

The whole background of the door above
Peach, just had her 6th birthday- in this pic splashing
in the fountain when she was 2 years old.
(Thurs. Door, Water World)

 

cloudnreflecthighrise_2796

 

Clouds of sunset reflected
(Weekend Reflect,  Sky Watch)

 

Join us on Sunday September 11 through Wednesday
with sharing your experience of the SEASON

SeasonsSummerFallWidgetBlog2_4269 copy

 

Thanks to All the Hosts! Direct link: click on it to bring your right there.

Good Fences  * Thurs. Door * Floral Fri Foto * Sky Watch * Fri Hunt *
Weekend Reflection *Todays Flowers * Fri Greens  * Fri Photo Journal *
Maleviks Rosen  * Our Beautiful World  * Sat. Critters  *
Blue Monday * Life through Lens  * Our World *
Nature Notes * Tue Texture  * Tue Treasures * Tue Travel  *
ABC Wed. -J * Outdoor Wed.  * Water World  Global Communal  *

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

53 thoughts on “SUBTROPICAL

    • This Target is in a ritzy neighborhood mall in Irvine, CA, so that may have to do with it:)
      Jacaranda trees are quite commonly seen in Southern California. Haven’t seen Jacarandas here around Sacramento yet, and only a handful of palm trees. Hope your kids are recuperating well and you can return to your normal life:)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Happy sixth to Peach! I guess this summer was a much better one for you weather and no threat of evacuation wise, J. I don’t think I could ever have made it in LA for such a long time, not without a LOT of moola anyway. I must say, that’s a pretty fancy Tar je.

    Like

    • I am Australian, but have lived in the UK for 46 years. I left Adelaide when I was 23. I first went back to our neighbourhood for a visit 12 years after I left. we had a beautiful jacaranda in the back yard that was over 50 years old. I cried when I found out and saw the new owners had got rid of the tree, because they didn’t like the “mess” it left after flowering.

      Like

  2. That’s too bad it costs more to live in the country, I guess gas and car wear and tear are always factors. Gas prices have been incredibly low here and on of my fav grocery stores offers “fuel perks” to boot. I paid .83/gal to fill up a few days ago. You don’t like baking with electric? All my Christmas presents are made with a crappy old electric apt stove, but you get to know its quirks. Guess I’m lucky to be out here kind of in the city or burbs but with countryside surrounding me. I rarely miss living downtown.

    Like

  3. Hi Jesh, Thank you for your sweet comment on my post. We will never forget.
    I grew up in Miami, Florida and palm trees and sub-tropical plants were a part of my life. Funny, we now live in the mountains of NC and dearly love the different seasons and where we live now.

    Love your tropical photo though. Calif is really a beautiful state.
    Happy Blue Monday and have a wonderful week.
    Hugs,
    Jeanne

    Like

  4. Beautiful shots, Jesh. We are lucky here in Melbourne because in as little as three hours on a plane we can go up to Queensland and enjoy the lush tropical vegetation and flowers.
    Than you for your participation in the Floral Friday Foto meme, I look forward to your next contribution.

    Like

  5. I do not think I could live in the LA area, well, really most of southern Cali… too many people and too hot… but, I would love to visit for a summer and stay for a bit to really experience it there. Thanks for the peek into life there.

    Lisa @ LTTL

    Like

    • Came to LA when I was younger and studying. Now I’m older it’s nice not to deal with big city things (live in Northern CA now, in the mountains), but I do miss the cultural things, the life at the coast, and there’s always something to photograph!

      Like

    • Do you mean, if there is a sale at Target? (Guess you don’t mean if the store Target is for sale?) Since my kids have grown and on their own, I hardly come there anymore:) Decisions, decisions! If your daughter got burned out from swimming, I would keep an eye on her:)

      Like

Love your comment! For you on Blogspot, I'll reply on your blog, since you otherwise won't see my reply.

