SEASONS – JULY FAVORITES

 

SeasonsSummerFallWidgetBlog2_4269 copy Hello SEASONS bloggers,

Photo Link Open Sunday July 17 – Wednesday July 20.
LOVED all of you showing up last week – my guess is some came back from vacation/holidays?
Welcome to my new blog home! There’s a great advantage to this theme –no extra clicks with giving a comment! The only disadvantage is that somehow my photos are not as sharp as on the other blog theme.

 

 

JeudeBouleWhatnext_2100

Jeu de Boule – a tribute to a happy and exhilarating day in June we had in Nice, (pronounce Niece) a few years ago, on the French Mediterranean. Thinking about the loved ones of whom lost a family member on Bastille Day, July 14,  a few days ago.

 

 

Lemons Roof

My friend’s brother is a horticulturist, who developed the garden where she lives. This lemon tree looked so luscious!

 

 

 

gado2-gado_1581

My parents were born in Indonesia but had the Dutch citizenship, and went with thousands of others to the Netherlands, when there was a political coup.  This Indonesian dish is called gado-gado (meaning snacking, because you can eat it all day).
Rice on the bottom, then cooked green cabbage, green beans, bean sprouts, hard boiled eggs sliced, raw cucumber cubed. Crispy fried onions and a peanut butter sauce on top.

Sauce: boil 2 cups of water with salt and pepper. Reduce flame to low. Keep adding peanut butter slowly (keep stirring) until it has the consistency of yogurt.
At the end add about 1-1 1/2 eating spoon of sweet soy sauce.  As spicy as you like with adding hot chili peppers or sambal (hot chili pepper paste)
(Some restaurants made this dish into a salad. Not the genuine Indonesian way to eat it.

The perfect meat with this dish,  BBQ pork in 5 big cubes for each, on a stick, called sate (not: satay as some people spell it). Dip the sate in the same peanut butter sauce.

*Chinese soy sauce is salty – it will not taste good with this dish), Conimex or ABC are a good brands for sweet soy sauce (also called Soy Sauce Manis).
*Am not a food-whiz, so I buy the crispy fried onions. Not the American Fried onions which are surrounded with a batter. I get these in a Korean food market, if there is not an Indonesian market around.

 

Your turn to share your season!
“Click here* in blue below on Sunday July 17-20

Save

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

22 thoughts on “SEASONS – JULY FAVORITES

  1. I like being able to comment now without having to go over to my reader. YEAH!

    That dish sounds really good! I’ll have to look for that soy sauce in my market. I don’t think I’ve ever had it…unless Thai food uses it?

    Like

    • That’s great – the less clicks the better:) Thanks for visiting!
      Have no experience with Thai food – only with Korean markets, but you can always try:) Sometimes they have it in a Saveway store – if it only says:soy sauce, it’s probably the salty one. Unless it says Indonesian, or “manis” (means sweet) somewhere on the bottle.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your pics are especially delish today, Jeanette. I think the gado-gado looks pretty clear and you’re still using WP with a white, non clickable bg. I don’t use word press anymore, but is there an image quality selection? I agree the Amador Country photos look clearer but maybe it’s the shaded photos.

    Like

  3. Nice to see you new blog, Jesh. Your recipe sounds delicious! I will have to look for that sweet soy sauce. There is a large Vietnamese market in a nearby town that might have it.

    Like

  4. Thank you for your recipes — the peanut butter sauce sounds wonderful (as far as I am concerned, anything with peanut butter is perfect) — I need to visit the Asian Market here in Eugene. I’m making a list!! Thanks for hosting “Seasons’.

    Like

  5. Hello!:) Your lovely!:) Thank you for your helpful comment about trying to paint standing up instead of sitting. I also find this difficult, but I still do a little pastel painting instead of oils sitting for short periods at a time. I will be eighty next year, so I also do not have the stamina I used to have.!!:))) Thank you for the gado-gado recipe, it looks very good.

    Like

Love your comment! For you on Blogspot, I'll reply on your blog, since you otherwise won't see my reply.

